Sunday , April 21 2024
Blues fans once again have an opportunity to weigh in on the year's best in the blues...

Nick Moss, Tommy Castro Lead Blues Blast Music Award Nominees

Nick Moss and Tommy Castro have tied to lead all nominees at the Blues Blast Music Awards, presented by Blues Blast Magazine, with three nominations a piece. A panel of blues writers, insiders, and experts have nominated artists, albums, and songs in eight categories and now its’ up to the magazine’s online subscribers to decide the winners. Voting is open to all Blues Blast subscribers and those subscriptions are free. The voting opens July 8 on Blues Blast Magazine's web site and continues until August 31.

Moss and Castro were each nominated for Best Contemporary Blues CD for their respective albums Privielged and Hard Believer. They were also each nominated as Best Blues Male Artist and were nominated with their bands The Flip Tops and Tommy Castro Band as Best Blues Band.  Castro won Band Of The Year as well as Contemporary Album of The Year at the <a href="">Blues Music Awards</a> earlier this year in Memphis.

In addition to Moss and Castro, several other artists received multiple nominations. Kilborn Alley Blues Band was nominated for Best Blues Song, “Better Off Now,” which is from their Best Traditional Blues CD-nominated album of the same name. Joe Louis Walker won Album of the Year at the BMAs in May and his album Between A Rock & The Blues is nominated for Best Contemporary CD. “I’m Tide” was nominated for Song of the Year at the BMAs and it’s nominated here in the Best Blues Song category.

The 2010 Blues Blast Music Awards will be presented at Buddy Guys' Legends at its brand new home in Chicago on October 28. Tickets for the event go onsale in August.

Best Contemporary Blues CD

  • Joe Louis Walker – Between A Rock And the Blues
  • Mike Zito – Pearl River
  • Nick Moss – Privileged
  • Sean Costello – Sean's Blues
  • The Holmes Brothers – Feed My Soul
  • Tommy Castro – Hard Believer

Best Traditional Blues CD

  • Dave Riley & Bob Corritore – Lucky To Be Living
  • David Maxwell & Louisiana Red – You Got To Move
  • Eddie C. Campbell – Tear This World Up
  • Fiona Boyes – Blues Woman
  • The Kilborn Alley Blues Band – Better Off Now
  • Mississippi Heat – Let's Live It Up

Best Blues Song

  • Jackie Scott & The Housewreckers – “How Much Woman Can You Stand?”
  • Joe Louis Walker – “I'm Tide”
  • Mike Zito & Cyril Neville – “Pearl River”
  • Pete Anderson – “Still In Love”
  • Quintus McCormick – “Hey Jodie”
  • The Kilborn Alley Blues Band – “Better Off Now”

Best New Artist Debut Release

  • Alabama Mike – Day To Day
  • Jackie Scott & The Housewreckers – How Much Woman Can You Stand?
  • Marquise Knox – Man Child
  • Quintus McCormick – Hey Jodie
  • Shaun Murphy – Livin The Blues

Best Male Blues Artist

  • Bobby Rush
  • Joe Bonamassa
  • John Németh
  • Magic Slim
  • Nick Moss
  • Tommy Castro

Best Female Blues Artist

  • Candye Kane
  • Fiona Boyes
  • Janiva Magness
  • Ruthie Foster
  • Shemekia Copeland
  • Zora Young

Best Blues Band

  • Magic Slim & The Teardrops
  • Nick Moss & The Flip Tops
  • Rick Estrin & The Night Cats
  • The Holmes Brothers
  • The Mannish Boys
  • Tommy Castro Band

Sean Costello Rising Star Award

  • Cash Box Kings
  • Damon Fowler
  • The Insomniacs
  • Jackie Scott & The Housewreckers
  • Joanne Shaw Taylor
  • Marquise Knox

About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

JFK Inauguration

Music Reviews: ‘The JFK Inauguration: US Top 100 20th January 1961,’ plus Mike Zito, Vanessa Peters, and Lance Cowan

A fascinating new anthology collects music from the week when President John F. Kennedy took office, featuring most of the songs that made Billboard’s chart that week.