Thursday , February 29 2024
The eighth volume of Dylan's bootleg series arrives in October and you can download a song from it free...

Bob Dylan To Release Tell Tale Signs – The Bootleg Series Vol. 8 Oct. 7, Free Download Available Now

It hasn't been the hottest summer for new music this year so I'm already anticipating a fall/winter overflowing with essential purchases. October 7 just got more expensive. I'm already buying Oasis' Dig Out Your Soul and now there's a new Bob Dylan collection being released that same day.

The eighth volume of Dylan's "Bootleg" series Tell Tale Signs will be released October 7 and you can download a song from the upcoming set for free from "Dreamin' Of You" was cut with producer Daniel Lanois during the sessions for what became the Grammy-winning Time Out of Mind album.

I'm excited about the set. These last few Dylan records (Time Out of Mind, Love & Theft, and Modern Times) have been outstanding. He's been backed by some great bands and I'm perhaps most excited about hearing live versions of some of these most recent songs. I really wish he'd release a proper live album from one of these most recent tours.

As is becoming increasingly common, the set is being offered in two different packages. The standard edition will be a 2-CD set of rarities and unreleased material from the past 20 years; the package will roughly cover the period from Oh, Mercy through Modern Times. A deluxe edition of the package will be released with a third CD in a hardcover slip case and will include a hardcover book of Bob Dylan singles.

Naturally I have to go for the three disc-er. Deluxe editions are only deluxe if they offer more music. An additional 12 songs? Yeah, I'm in for that. I'm having one of them. Here's the full track list.

Disc One

  1. Mississippi (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
  2. Most of the Time (Alternate version, Oh Mercy)
  3. Dignity (Piano demo, Oh Mercy)
  4. Someday Baby (Alternate version, Modern Times)
  5. Red River Shore (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
  6. Tell Ol' Bill (Alternate version, North Country Soundtrack)
  7. Born in Time (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
  8. Can't Wait (Alternate version, Time Out Of Mind)
  9. Everything is Broken (Alternate version, Oh Mercy)
  10. Dreamin' of You (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
  11. Huck's Tune (From Lucky You soundtrack)
  12. Marchin' to the City (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
  13. High Water (For Charley Patton) (Live, Niagara, 2003)

Disc Two

  1. Mississippi (Unreleased version #2, Time Out Of Mind)
  2. 32-20 Blues (Unreleased, World Gone Wrong)
  3. Series of Dreams (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
  4. God Knows (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
  5. Can't Escape From You (Unreleased, December 2005)
  6. Dignity (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
  7. Ring Them Bells (Live at the Supper Club, 1993)
  8. Cocaine Blues (Live, Vienna, Virginia, 1997)
  9. Ain't Talkin' (Alternate version, Modern Times)
  10. The Girl On The Greenbriar Shore (Live, 1992)
  11. Lonesome Day Blues (Live, Sunrise, Florida, 2002)
  12. Miss the Mississippi (Unreleased, 1992)
  13. The Lonesome River (With Ralph Stanley, from Clinch Mountain Country)
  14. 'Cross The Green Mountain (From Gods And Generals Soundtrack)

Disc Three (Ltd. Edition)

  1. Duncan And Brady (Unreleased, 1992)
  2. Cold Irons Bound (Live, Bonnaroo, June 2004)
  3. Mississippi (Unreleased version #3, Time Out Of Mind)
  4. Most Of The Time (Alternate version #2, Oh Mercy)
  5. Ring Them Bells (Alternate version, Oh Mercy)
  6. Things Have Changed (Live, Portland, Oregon, 2000)
  7. Red River Shore (Unreleased version #2, Time Out Of Mind)
  8. Born In Time (Unreleased version #2, Oh Mercy)
  9. Tryin' To Get To Heaven (Live, London, England, 2000)
  10. Marchin' To The City (Unreleased version #2, Time Out Of Mind)
  11. Can't Wait (Alternate version #2, Time Out Of Mind)
  12. Mary And The Soldier (Unreleased, World Gone Wrong)

About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

Blu-ray Review: Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: In Concert: Encore

This continuing Rock HOF induction video series comes highly recommended set (3.5 stars out of four), as many musicians perform some rare and very memorable works. Enjoy 44 live performances from four induction ceremonies (2010-2013).