Monday , February 26 2024
The legend has some famous company making cameos on his 19th solo record...

Hall Of Famer Eric Clapton to Release New Album Clapton Sept. 28

Eric Clapton will release his 19th solo album, Clapton, on September 28, 2010.  It’s his first solo album since the 2005 CD Back Home (although he collaborated on a record with JJ Cale the next year, The Road To Escondido).

The 14-track set is co-produced by Clapton and his longtime collaborator Doyle Bramhall II.  Cale joins Clapton on the album as does drummer Jim Keltner.  In addition, there are guest appearances from Sheryl Crow, Derek Trucks, Steve Winwood, Wynton Marsalis, and Allen Toussaint. 

Clapton and Crow have often teamed up on stage at various performances and reportedly had a personal relationship at one point.  Clapton and Winwood were both in the band Blind Faith and recently did a string of dates together.  Derek Trucks Band has also toured with Clapton and performed at his annual concert to benefit the Crossroads Treatment Center he helped found in Antigua.

The record mixes covers of older and obscure traditional and country-blues songs as well as a handful of new original tunes penned specifically for the album.

“This album wasn’t what it was intended to be at all,” he said.  “It’s actually better than it was meant to be because, in a way, I just let it happen.  It’s an eclectic collection of songs that weren’t really on the map—and I like it so much because if it’s a surprise to the fans, that’s only because it’s a surprise to me, as well.”

  1. Travelin’ Alone
  2. Rocking Chair
  3. River Runs Deep
  4. Judgement Day
  5. How Deep Is The Ocean
  6. My Very Good Friend The Milkman
  7. Can’t Hold Out Much Longer
  8. That’s No Way To Get Along
  9. Everything Will Be Alright
  10. Diamonds Made From Rain
  11. When Somebody Thinks You’re Wonderful
  12. Hard Times Blues
  13. Run Back To Your Side
  14. Autumn Leaves

About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

Willie Nelson 90

Music and Film Reviews: ‘Long Story Short: Willie Nelson 90,’ plus Violent Femmes and Catbells

A concert pays tribute to Willie Nelson, plus a reissue of Violent Femmes' debut and a new release from the mysterious Catbells.