Tuesday , October 26 2021

Sonny Rollins: “Living Legend of Jazz”

I don’t think there are enough awards shows, do you? Here is a new one, the NightLife Awards, honoring “the best of New York City cabaret, comedy and jazz,” live at the Town Hall January 27.

The NightLife Awards winners have been chosen from artists working in New
York City nightclubs by writers and poobahs, who voted on the winners in 19 categories. A special award is to be presented annually to a Living Legend in the Cabaret, Comedy, and Jazz categories. This year, those honorees are Julie Wilson, Robert Klein, and Rollins, my favorite sax man.

The awards show will feature a raft of talent including hosts Dee Dee Bridgewater, Lea DeLaria and Andrea Marcovicci, and performers and/or presenters Karen Akers, Lewis Black, John Bucchino, Charles Busch, Liz Callaway, Kristin Chenoweth, John Cullum, Tovah Feldshuh, Judy Kuhn, Ute Lemper, Karen Mason, John McDaniel, Donna Murphy, James Naughton, Phylicia Rashad, David Sanborn (presenting to Rollins), Stephen Schwartz, KT Sullivan, Lillias White, Tom Wopat, etc.

I reviewed Rollins’ bio here, check it out.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

About Eric Olsen

Career media professional and serial entrepreneur Eric Olsen flung himself into the paranormal world in 2012, creating the America's Most Haunted brand and co-authoring the award-winning America's Most Haunted book, published by Berkley/Penguin in Sept, 2014. Olsen is co-host of the nationally syndicated broadcast and Internet radio talk show After Hours AM; his entertaining and informative America's Most Haunted website and social media outlets are must-reads: [email protected], Facebook.com/amhaunted, Pinterest America's Most Haunted. Olsen is also guitarist/singer for popular and wildly eclectic Cleveland cover band The Props.

Check Also

kronos quartet

Concert Review (NYC): Kronos Quartet and Friends – Music from ’50 for the Future,’ 21 October 2021

With all the genre-bending acts and projects out there today, there's still no one quite like the Kronos Quartet.