Monday , April 22 2024
Cash Box Kings release their first album since joining Blue Bella Records on March 16.

Cash Box Kings Announce Tracklisting, Tour Dates, Artwork for 3/16 Release I-94 Blues

Blues newcomers Cash Box Kings have released the full tracklist and artwork for their fifth album and first for Blue Bella Records, I-94 Blues, due March 16.

The Cash Box Kings are made up of the core quartet Joe Nosek on harmonica, rhythm guitar, and vocals, Chris "CB" Boeger on upright bass and vocals, Kenny "Beedy Eyes" Smith on drums and vocals,  and Oscar "43rd Street" Wilson,  vocals, guitar, and harmonica.  They are often joined in the studio and on the road by veterans Billy Flynn and Barrelhouse Chuck as well as Chicago legends Lurrie Bell and Willie "Big Eyes" Smith.

The 15-track album was cut in one single day at Smart Studios in Madison, WI and includes a mix of covers and originlas.  They cover a pair of Muddy Waters songs but the cover you have to hear to believe is their take on the late Jim Croce's "You Don't Mess Around With Jim." 

The CBK sound is distinctly blues and distinctly Chicago yet is otherwise elastic.  They can rock and groove, plug in or throw in an acoustic jams.  They sometimes bring the guitars out front, other times it's the harmonica.  They also pass the mic around and change up vocalists.   CBK are a band and a loose collective that can play it tight or loose and they do throughout the course of their new album.

CBK have already lined up tour dates to promote the new record, playing through the upper Midwest beginning in March, including a stop at Buddy Guy's Chicago club, Legends.

Blue Bella will also release CDs from Nick Moss, Matthew Stubbs, and Kilborn Alley Blues Band on March 16.

I-94 Blues Tracklisting

  1. Default Boogie
  2. St. Paul Wintertime Blues
  3. Hard Day Blues
  4. Mellow Chick Swing
  5. Country Boy
  6. Hittin' On My Baby
  7. Ain't No Fun When The Rabbit Got The Gun
  8. I-94 Blues
  9. You Don't Mess Around With Jim
  10. Fallin' Down
  11. Tried So Hard
  12. Southern Belle
  13. Quesadilla Boogie
  14. Second Chance
  15. Warm It Up To Me

March Tour Dates
Mar 6 2010 Nick’s Beer Garden Chicago, Illinois
Mar 7 2010 Shaw’s Crab House and Oyster Bar Chicago, Illinois
Mar 19 2010 Buddy Guy’s Legends Chicago, Illinois
Mar 20 2010 Crystal Corner Bar Madison, Wisconsin
Mar 27 2010 Wilebski’s Blues Saloon St. Paul, Minnesota

About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

The Anarchist’s Dilemma: an Interlude

Perhaps Franz Fanon rather than Michel Foucault should be the voice we ought to heed for having a better grasp of the human condition.