Wednesday , June 19 2024

Who Tribute for HEAR

Well, a boatload of people have (quite rightly) questioned how I could leave the Who out of my Top Ten Bands list.

My reasoning is this: I already had the Beatles and the Stones from the British Invasion, I also had Led Zepp and Pink Floyd who were Brits from about the same era. I wanted to get to other styles, eras and countries (the U.S. – home of rock ‘n’ roll) so the Who were the ones who went. I would say they are my number 11, though.

So, I will take this opportunity to pass the word along on this:



    All proceeds benefit HEAR – hearing loss prevention organization boosted by Pete Townshend

    BURLINGTON, NJ — Face Down Records (FDR) has released WHO’S NOT FORGOTTEN, the much anticipated tribute to the legendary rock band, The Who.

    The album is a collection of 21 songs recorded by a “who’s who” of the best power-pop/indie-rock bands from the New Jersey/Philadelphia area, including the Bigger Lovers, Cordalene, The Photon Band, Grandfabric, and many more. FDR also is proud to bring fans a live recording from indie-rock pioneers Guided By Voices, whose blazing rendition of “Baba O’Riley” is a compilation high point. Pat Dinizio of Smithereens fame also turns in a brilliant live recording of “Behind Blue Eyes.” A full track listing is at the bottom of this message.

    The Second Release Show has been scheduled for:

    Friday 4/9/04 @ The Khyber in Philadelphia, PA – – $8.00, doors open at 9:00 PM – featuring Dipsomaniacs, Cordalene, Taggart, Grandfabric, Steve Brown, and special appearances by Art Difuria from the Photon Band and Tommy Conwell. Fans can expect lots of Who songs. The FDR roster is fully represented on the tribute with tracks from the Dipsomaniacs, Blank Pages, Bastards of Melody, Taggart and J Horndog. The Dipsomaniacs also appear as the backing band for Philly guitar legend-turned-WYSP-DJ, Tommy Conwell, whose rockin’ version of “Long Live Rock” is featured in the heart of the compilation. The CD also features several artists who call Jam Records, who are co-releasing the album, home, including the Lolas, Chris Richards, Jeremy and the Glowfriends.

    Saddened but inspired by the untimely passing of bassist John Entwistle, FDR made a point of featuring some of the lesser-known tracks written by Entwistle, including “Boris the Spider” and “Heaven and Hell.” Die-hard fans will also be pleased to hear some Who deep cuts such as the often overlooked classics “So Sad About Us,” “Glow Girl,” “Pictures of Lily” and “The Real Me.”

    All proceeds from the sale of Who’s Not Forgotten will benefit HEAR, a hearing loss prevention organization created in 1989 with a sizable donation from Pete Townshend. For more info on this valuable resource, please visit.

    All FDR releases can be purchased from the FDR web site – Distribution is provided by national one-stop Baker & Taylor, Jam Records, Not lame Records, Kool Kat Records, and the Chicago-based Carrot Top Records.

    Track Listing:

    1. Heaven and Hell – Photon Band
    2. The Real Me – Bastards of Melody
    3. The Kids Are Alright – The Lolas
    4. Bargain – Dipsomaniacs
    5. Behind Blue Eyes – Pat Dinizio
    6. Baba O’Riley – Guided By Voices
    7. Long Live Rock – Tommy Conwell w/ Dipsomaniacs
    8. Glow Girl – Bigger Lovers
    9. I’m a Boy – Cordalene
    10. Pictures of Lily – Taggart
    11. Athena – Grand Fabric
    12. Squeeze Box – The Commons
    13. Maryanne with the Shaky Hands – Chris Richards
    14. I Can See for Miles – Jim Basnight
    15. Substitute – Blank Pages
    16. Circles – Jeremy
    17. So Sad About Us – Steve Brown
    18. 1921 – Nancy Falkow
    19. Boris the Spider – J Horndog
    20. My Generation – The Contractions
    21. I Can’t Explain – Glowfriends

The CD is available from the FDR site.

About Eric Olsen

Career media professional and serial entrepreneur Eric Olsen flung himself into the paranormal world in 2012, creating the America's Most Haunted brand and co-authoring the award-winning America's Most Haunted book, published by Berkley/Penguin in Sept, 2014. Olsen is co-host of the nationally syndicated broadcast and Internet radio talk show After Hours AM; his entertaining and informative America's Most Haunted website and social media outlets are must-reads: Twitter@amhaunted,, Pinterest America's Most Haunted. Olsen is also guitarist/singer for popular and wildly eclectic Cleveland cover band The Props.

Check Also

Christo Grozev in 'Antidote'

Tribeca Film Festival Review: ‘Antidote’

'Antidote' documents the story of journalists who risk their lives investigating and reporting on Putin's murderous, oppressive regime.