Monday , March 1 2021
26 acts have been confirmed for the May 7 awards show in Memphis, TN

Watermelon Slim, Eden Brent, Janiva Magness, Lil’ Ed & The Blues Imperials Among Performers for 30th Blues Music Awards

The Blues Foundation has started announcing the lineup of performers for the 30th Blues Music Awards, to be held May 7 in Memphis, Tennessee, including several nominees.  Nominated performers include Watermelon Slim & The Workers, Mannish Boys, Eden Brent, Chris James & Patrick Ryan, and Janiva Magness.

In addition to the blues superstars showing up to perform and collect some deserved hardware, 95-year old National Treasure Pinetop Perkins will be on hand to hand out the award named in his honor to the top blues piano player of the year.

In addition to the performances on the big night itself, some of the nominees will be playing shows around town leading up to the May 7 awards ceremony.  Band of the Year nominees Nick Moss & The Flip Tops will be playing Memphis' Rum Boogie Café the night before.

Tickets for the event being held at the Cook Convention Center are $125 and are available through the Blues Foundation.

Full list of announced performers:

  • Watermelon Slim
  • Elvin Bishop
  • Lil' Ed & the Blues Imperials
  • Bob Brozman
  • Paul Rishell & Annie Raines
  • Doug MacLeod
  • Billy Gibson 
  • Johnny Rawls
  • Delta Highway
  • Robin Rogers
  • Steve Guyger
  • Bill Stuve
  • Chris James & Patrick Ryan 
  • Bettye LaVette
  • Maria Muldaur & Taj Mahal
  • Irma Thomas
  • Otis Taylor
  • Marcia Ball
  • Gaye Adegbalola
  • Rory Block
  • Albert Castiglia
  • Janiva Magness
  • Kenny Neal
  • Eden Brent
  • The Mannish Boys
  • A Chicago Blues Jam with drummer Kenny Smith, drummer/harmonica player Willie "Big Eyes" Smith (Muddy Waters), bassist Bob Stroger (Otis Rush), and others.


About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

Nerve Bumps by Dax Pierson

Music Review: Dax Pierson – ‘Nerve Bumps: A Queer Divine Dissatisfaction’

With "Nerve Bumps A Queer Divine Dissatisfaction" Dax Pierson has created a beautiful series of musical pieces that will inspire and enlighten.