Saturday , February 24 2024
Third single from upcoming "Working On A Dream" can be downloaded free for one day only...

Springsteen Offers “Life Itself” As Free Download Through Amazon

A third single from Bruce Springsteen's upcoming album Working On A Dream has been released digitally and for one day only (Jan. 5, 2009) it can be downloaded free from

The title track was made available free from iTunes, followed by "My Lucky Day" through Amazon.  "Life Itself" is the third track to be made available in advance of the new record which will be released January 27.  The album is being released as a standard CD as well as a CD/DVD deluxe edition.  The DVD will include 30 minutes of in-studio footage, dialogue, and recording of the album

On his official web site, Springsteen gave fans a bit of background about the album and its origins, saying, "During the last weeks of mixing Magic, we recorded a song called 'What Love Can Do.' It was sort of a 'love in the time of Bush' meditation. It was a great track but felt more like a first song of new record rather than something that would fit on Magic."

"So our producer Brendan O'Brien said, 'Hey, let's make another one right now!' I thought, no, I haven't done that since my first two records came out in the same year. And usually I don't write that quickly. But that night I went back to my hotel in Atlanta and over the next week, I wrote several songs that formed the beginnings of our new album."

Springsteen and The E Street Band will play the halftime show at the Super Bowl in February and are expected to launch a tour in support of Working On A Dream, although no dates have been announced.

Track list for Working On A Dream:

1. Outlaw Pete
2. My Lucky Day
3. Working On a Dream
4. Queen of the Supermarket
5. What Love Can Do
6. This Life
7. Good Eye
8. Tomorrow Never Knows
9. Life Itself
10. Kingdom of Days
11. Surprise, Surprise
12. The Last Carnival
13. The Wrestler (Bonus Track)

About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

nash ensemble Tchaikovsky Korngold

Music Review: Nash Ensemble – ‘Tchaikovsky & Korngold: String Sextets’

A late work by Tchaikovsky and an early one by Korngold reveal the possibilities of the string sextet in a fine new recording from the Nash Ensemble.