Friday , February 23 2024
James Cotton, Lonnie Brooks, Lil' Ed, Otis Clay, and Elvin Bishop also cameo on Magic Slim's latest...

Nick Moss Produces Magic Slim & The Teardrops’ Midnight Blues, In Stores Sept. 9

Magic Slim & The Teardrops have enlisted an all-star cast of blues musicians to help them with their new album Midnight Blues, due in stores September 9 from Blind Pig Records.

With multiple Blues Music Award-nominee Nick Moss producing, the 71-year old Slim and his band was joined by the great James "Superharp" Cotton, Lil' Ed (Lil' Ed & The Imperials), Lonnie Brooks, Elvin Bishop, Otis Clay, and George Barge. Rounding out the band are Teardrop regulars Danny O'Connor on bass and David Simms on drums.

I've been waiting for this one ever since my conversation with Nick Moss after his gig in Huntsville when he told me about working on it. I didn't know at the time if we were "on the record," so I kept this little nugget to myself. Now that press releases and advances are being sent out, I guess it's safe to talk aout it.

Among the 13 tracks on Midnight Blues are five Slim originals and covers of songs made famous by Muddy Waters, Little Milton, and Willie Dixon.

Cotton guests on Muddy's "You Can't Lose What You Ain't Never Had" and Lil' Ed – nephew of the great, underrated J.B. Hutto – brings his Hutto-inspired slide guitar to "Give Me Back My Wig." Veterans Lonnie Brooks and Elvin Bishop add some guitar to "Spider In My Stew" and "Cryin' Won't Let You Stay" respectively. Otis Clay adds some backing vocals to Little Milton's "Loving You Is The Best Thing That Happened To Me."

Magic Slim, born Morris Holt, is a native of Torrence, Mississippi and just turned 71 earlier this month. He came to Chicago in 1955 and didn't have much luck with his music career, prompting him to return to Mississippi. He returned to Chicago in 1965 and by 1967 was an established member of the Chicago blues scene.

Complete Tracklisting for Midnight Blues

  1. Let Me Love You

  2. You Can't Lose What You Ain't Never Had

  3. Give Me Back My Wig

  4. Lonely Man

  5. Spider in My Stew

  6. Going Down The Road Feeling Bad

  7. Full Load Boogie

  8. Crosseyed Cat

  9. House Cat Blues

  10. Carla

  11. Cryin' Won't Let You Stay

  12. What Is That You Got

  13. Loving You Is The Best Thing That Happened To Me


About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

Nick Moss Performs “Ghetto (Kind Of)” on Don Odell’s Legends

Killer live performance from Moss & The Flip Tops...