Saturday , June 15 2024
Joe Louis Walker went on a cruise and he brought us all back a star-studded souvenir!

Joe Louis Walker To Release All-Star Live Album Blues Conspiracy Sept. 28

Joe Louis Walker has announced he will release a live album in September, his first album since winning the Blues Music Award for Album of The Year for his stellar Between A Rock & The Blues.

Walker will release Blues Conspiracy: Live On The Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise September 28, and as the title implies the music was recorded during his appearances as part of the Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise

The spirit of blues tradition of collaboration was alive and well on the cruise as Walker was able to get some of the biggest names to join him onstage.  Among those who jammed with him and feature on the record are Johnny Winter, Curtis Salgado, Nick Moss, Tommy Castro, Jason Ricci, Watermelon Slim, and Duke Robillard. 

The 11-track live album features songs from Walker’s recent recordings – Witness To The Blues and Between A Rock & The Blues – and some well-chosen covers.  Walker says he’s been asked for years by fans when he’d release another live record.  Walker thinks Blues Conspiracy was worth the wait and hopes fans will, as well.

“I would like to thank all the great musicians involved in this project for giving their heart, soul and talent to this collaboration,” says Walker. “This was not about money, ego and so called fame. It was about the music. As you can see, these artists are a mixture of ages and styles.

‘The one thread running through us all is the blues. For all the fans of live music, what you hear on this CD is what the audience heard at the performances. There are no enhancements or overdubs. In other words, what you hear is what it was and what it is. What a tribute to the quality of all the wonderful musicians involved.” 

  1. “Slow Down GTO” with Mike Finnigan
  2. “Ain’t That Cold” with Johnny Winter
  3. “You’re Gonna Make Me Cry” with Curtis Salgado & Mike Finnigan
  4. “Eyes Like a Cat” with Tommy Castro, Tom Poole, Deanna Bogart & Keith Crossan
  5. “Ten More Shows to Play” with Kirk Fletcher                                   
  6. “Born in Chicago” with Jason Ricci, Paris Slim & Nick Moss
  7. “Sugar Mama” with Watermelon Slim
  8. “Tell Me Why” with Duke Robillard & Todd Sharpville
  9. “A Poor Man’s Plea” with Kenny Neal
  10. “It’s a Shame” with Linwood Taylor, Kevin Burton, Henry Oden & Jeff Minnieweather
  11. “747” with Paul Nelson, Tab Benoit & Mitch Woods

About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

Nektar-Remember the Future

Music Reviews: Nektar’s ‘Remember the Future’ Box Set, plus ‘The Johnny Winter Story’

Reviews: a box set for the 50th anniversary of Nektar's Remember the Future, plus Johnny Winter.