Thursday , May 23 2024
Taylor follows up her smash debut with new music in November...

Joanne Shaw Taylor To Release Diamonds In The Dirt November 9

Joanne Shaw Taylor will release Diamonds In The Dirt, the follow-up to her acclaimed debut White Sugar, on November 9.

It’s been a whirlwind 18 months since the UK native released White Sugar.  The album was nominated for awards in the US and UK and she toured in support of the album extensively.  She has now relocated her base of operations to Detroit and in the middle of all that found time to write the 10 songs that make up Diamonds In The Dirt.

“There are a huge amount of incredible bands and musicians in Detroit,” Taylor said.  “I’m sure it’s given me new inspiration and been part of the reason for the slightly heavier sound on this album.”

There’s more to Diamonds than geography, as Taylor says these songs represent an accurate snapshot of where she is as an artist as well as a look at many parts of her life.

“All the songs on this album are autobiographical,” she said.  “It’s basically a chance to put thoughts and fears to paper.

Taylor teamed with White Sugar producer Steve Gaines and recorded Diamonds at Gaines’ Tennessee studio.  Taylor again handles vocals and lead guitar and is joined by drummer Steve Potts, bassist Dave Smith, and keyboardist Rick Steff.

White Sugar was a revelation for me and I voted for it as Best New Artist Debut on my Blues Music Award ballot.  I’ve heard three sound clips of songs from the record and I won’t make any sweeping statements about this new record based on them except to say things I love about Taylor’s work were still there.  I’m excited to hear these new songs and gauge the growth from White Sugar to Diamonds In The Dirt.

  1. Can’t Keep Living Like This
  2. Dead And Gone
  3. Same As It Never Was
  4. Jump That Train
  5. Who Do You Love?
  6. Diamonds In The Dirt
  7. Let It Burn
  8. World On Fire
  9. Lord Have Mercy
  10. The World And It’s Way

About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

the Suspect Cover

Book Review: ‘The Suspect’ by Rizwaan Sabir

'The Suspect' by Rizwann Sabir is a fascinating book detailing the extent of the UK security services' colonial and racist approach to counter terrorism.