Monday , March 4 2024
The nominees are in.

Janiva Magness, Eden Brent, Buddy Guy, Lil’ Ed, Nick Moss Lead 2009 Blues Music Award Nominees

The 30th annual Blues Music Awards will be handed out in Memphis on May 7 and the nominations have been announced. Singer Janiva Magness and newcomer Eden Brent received a year's best four nominations while several other artists received three.

Buddy Guy's Skin Deep and Magness' What Love Will Do are among the nominees for Album of the Year along with efforts from veteran Elvin Bishop, Curtis Salgado, and The Mannish Boys, who also received three nominations this year. While the legendary B.B. King, who actually has an award named after him, was nominated for two awards, his album was mysteriously not among the Album of the Year nominations.

Among the list of nominees are a lot of familiar names, including Watermelon Slim, Nick Moss, and Gerry Hundt. Moss is an 11-time nominee who has yet to bring home a statue from the BMAs, but in November picked up an award for Song of the Year from the Blues Blast Awards for his song “Mistakes From the Past” from his Play It 'Til Tomorrow album. Newcomer Eden Brent's Mississippi Number One was nominated in the Acoustic category as well as for best debut album. Joining Brent in the debut category are wonder kids Homemade Jamz Blues Band and Chris James and Patrick Ryan's collaboration. Lil' Ed Williams and his Blues Imperials were also nominated three times, including a nod for Entertainer of the Year.

Here is the full list of nominees:

Album of the Year

The Mannish Boys – Lowdown Feelin'

Curtis Salgado – Clean Getaway

Buddy Guy – Skin Deep

Janiva Magness – What Love Will Do

Elvin Bishop – The Blues Rolls On


Acoustic Album of the Year

Eden Brent – Mississippi Number One

Rory Block – Blues Walkin' Like a Man

Paul Rishell & Annie Raines – A Night in Woodstock

Hans Theessink & Terry Evans – Visions

Fiona Boyes, Mookie Brill & Rich Del Grosso – Live from Bluesville


Acoustic Artist of the Year

Doug MacLeod

Rory Block

Otis Taylor

Paul Rishell & Annie Raines

Eden Brent


B.B. King Entertainer of the Year

Janiva Magness

Watermelon Slim

Bobby Rush

Lil' Ed

Magic Slim


Band of the Year

Magic Slim & the Teardrops

Nick Moss & the Flip Tops

The Mannish Boys

Watermelon Slim & the Workers

Lil' Ed & the Blues Imperials


Best New Artist Debut

Chris James and Patrick Rynn – Stop and Think About It

Delta Highway – The Devil Had a Woman

Cedric Burnside & Lightnin' Malcolm – 2 Man Wrecking Crew

The Homemade Jamz Blues Band – Pay Me No Mind

Eden Brent – Mississippi Number One


Contemporary Blues Album of the Year

Elvin Bishop – The Blues Rolls On

Watermelon Slim & the Workers – No Paid Holidays

Janiva Magness – What Love Will Do

Sean Costello – We Can Get Together

Buddy Guy – Skin Deep


Contemporary Blues Female Artist of the Year

Gaye Adegbalola

Marcia Ball

Robin Rogers

Bettye LaVette

Janiva Magness


Contemporary Blues Male Artist of the Year

Michael Burks

Elvin Bishop

Sean Costello

Watermelon Slim

Buddy Guy



Broke & Hungry Records, Cathead Blues & Mudpuppy Recordings – M For Mississippi: A Road Trip Through The Birthplace of the Blues

Eagle Eye Media – Albert Collins Live at Montreux 1992

Eagle Eye Media – Carlos Santana Plays Blues At Montreux 2004

Stony Plain Records – Ronnie Earl & Broadcasters – Hope Radio Sessions

Delmark Records – Little Arthur Duncan Live at Rosa's Blues Lounge


Historical Album of the Year

Eagle Records – Albert Collins Live At Montreux 1992

Jamie Records – Barbara Lynn: The Jamie Singles 1962-1965

Delmark Records – On Highway 80 (Sleepy John Estes)

Ruf Records – Rich Man's War: New Blues & Roots Songs of Peace and Protest (Various Artists)

TopCat Records – Hollywood Fats & the Paladins Live 1985



Bob Stroger

Mookie Brill

Larry Taylor

Bill Stuve

Jeff Turmes



Cedric Burnside

Richard Innes

Jimi Bott

Tony Braunagel

Kenny Smith

Willie 'Big Eyes' Smith



Sonny Landreth

Lurrie Bell

Michael Burks

Kid Ramos

Ronnie Earl



Steve Guyger

Billy Gibson

Mark Hummel

Jason Ricci

Rick Estrin

Willie 'Big Eyes' Smith



Deanna Bogart

Kaz Kazanoff

Terry Hanck

Keith Crossan

Doug James



Johnny Sansone – Accordion

Bob Brozman – Mandolin, Ukulele

Otis Taylor – Banjo

Rich Del Grosso – Mandolin

Gerry Hundt – Mandolin


Pinetop Perkins Piano Player

Henry Butler

David Maxwell

Eden Brent

Bruce Katz

Marcia Ball


Rock Blues Album of the Year

Jeff Healey – Mess of Blues

Sonny Landreth – from the REACH

Michael Burks – Iron Man

Gary Moore – Bad for You Baby

Smokin' Joe Kubek & Bnois King – Blood Brothers

Walter Trout – The Outsider


Song of the Year

Dave Duncan & Curtis Salgado – “20 Years of B. B. King” (Curtis Salgado)

Kenny Neal – “Let Life Flow” (Kenny Neal)

Elvin Bishop – “The Blues Rolls On” (Elvin Bishop)

Albert Castiglia – “Bad Year Blues” (Albert Castiglia)

Sonny Landreth – “Blue Tarp Blues” (Sonny Landreth)


Soul Blues Album of the Year

Irma Thomas – Simply Grand

Curtis Salgado – Clean Getaway

Jackie Payne Steve Edmonson Band – Overnight Sensation

Clarence Spady – Just Between Us

Johnny Rawls – Red Cadillac


Soul Blues Female Artist of the Year

Sharrie Williams

Irma Thomas

Jean Shy

Etta James

Denise LaSalle


Soul Blues Male Artist of the Year

Tad Robinson

Bobby Rush

Jackie Payne

Johnny Rawls

Curtis Salgado


Traditional Blues Album of the Year

Lil' Ed & the Blues Imperials – Full Tilt

B.B. King – One Kind Favor

Honeyboy Edwards – Roamin' and Ramblin'

Eddy 'The Chief' Clearwater – West Side Strut

The Mannish Boys – Lowdown Feelin'


Traditional Blues Female Artist of the Year

Koko Taylor

Maria Muldaur

Nora Jean Bruso

Diunna Greenleaf

Ruthie Foster


Traditional Blues Male Artist of the Year

B.B. King

Lurrie Bell

Magic Slim

Eddy 'The Chief' Clearwater

Honeyboy Edwards

About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

HBO’s ‘True Detective: Night Country’ – Dark, Supernatural Twist the Series Needed

HBO’s series, 'True Detective: Night Country' has a dark, supernatural twist that the series needed.