Sunday , February 25 2024
A highly anticipated release from a multiple-award winner...

Eden Brent To Release Ain’t Got No Troubles Sept. 7

Blues Music Award and 2006 International Blues Challenge winner Eden Brent is set to release her sophomore album Ain’t Got No Troubles on Yellow Dog Records on September 7.

Brent told me after winning the Pinetop Perkins Piano Player of the Year award at the BMAs in May (and delivering a spectacular performance) she had one rule for Ain’t Got No Troubles: she wasn’t interested in making ‘Mississippi Number Two,’ referencing her acclaimed debut Mississippi No. 1. Linden convinced Brent if she let him work with her on the record that wouldn’t be a problem.  He also expressed a willingness to go to some rather extreme lengths to convince her to partner with him.

Brent, Linden, George Porter Jr., and Bryan Owings gathered in New Orleans and cut all 12 tracks in roughly a week.  She said they were able to record quickly because the songs were ready and the instinctive, talented musicians working with her knew what to do.  Brent wrote eight of the 12 tracks and Linden wrote one (“Later Than You Think”).  She also takes a swing at a number written by renown songwriters Gary Nicholson and Delbert McClinton (“Right To Be Wrong”)

The title track from the record has already been featured on NPR, where you can stream it.

  1. Someone To Love
  2. Ain’t Got No Troubles
  3. Blues All Over
  4. Later Than You Think
  5. Right To Be Wrong
  6. Leave Me Alone
  7. Let’s Boogie-Woogie
  8. My Man
  9. Beyond My Broken Dreams
  10. If I Can’t
  11. In Love With Your Wallet
  12. Goodnight Moon

About Josh Hathaway

Check Also

Pianist Kariné Poghosyan

Concert Review (NYC): Pianist Kariné Poghosyan, “All That Jazz” – Gershwin, Ginastera and More

The Armenian pianist played 'Rhapsody in Blue,' and much more, with conviction and flair at a concert she called 'All That Jazz.'