Thursday , May 19 2022

CMA Awards Tonight

Country Music puts its best boot forward tonight:

    Icons, legends, international superstars, divas, newcomers and stalwarts will perform and appear during “The 36th Annual CMA Awards,” broadcast live Wednesday, Nov. 6 (8:00-11:00 PM/EST) on the CBS Television Network from the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville, Tenn.

    In 2001, more than 38 million people tuned in to watch the CMA Awards. The Awards tied in households and won the night in viewers on a very competitive night during fall sweeps. So, how do you follow that kind of success?

    “Again we are focused on the music,” said CMA Executive Director Ed Benson. “Extra attention is being paid not only to what the show looks like, but how it sounds, so that we can deliver to the many millions of viewers a true representation of the extraordinary artists we have in Country Music.”

    New to the lineup for the CMA Awards are presenters Loretta Lynn, Trace Adkins, Steve Azar, Richie McDonald of Lonestar and Marty Roe of Diamond Rio. Presenting Awards prior to the broadcast are John Michael Montgomery and Chris Cagle.

    Loretta Lynn has been a staple of Country Music since the 1960s. The Kentucky-born singer and songwriter won her first CMA Award at the inaugural celebration in 1967 when she was named Female Vocalist of the Year, a prize she has been nominated for a total of 12 times and claimed again in 1972 and 1973. Lynn was the first woman to ever win the CMA Entertainer of the Year Award when she took the honor in 1972.

    A three-time CMA Award nominee, Trace Adkins recently hit the road with Horizon nominee Darryl Worley on the “Big Men of Country Tour.” Adkins’ latest Capitol Nashville album Chrome, includes his No. 1 hit “I’m Tryin.'”

    Steve Azar released his first Mercury Nashville album, Waitin’ On Joe in April. Riding the success of his Top 5 lead single “I Don’t Have To Be Me (‘Til Monday)” Azar will present an Award on Wednesday night.

    Richie McDonald has been nominated for six career CMA Awards as part of multi-Platinum BNA Records group Lonestar – the reigning CMA Vocal Group of the Year. Lonestar is nominated again in 2002.

    As a member of Arista Nashville supergroup Diamond Rio, Marty Roe has won five CMA Awards including four for Vocal Group of the Year and they are nominated again in 2002.

    John Michael Montgomery and Chris Cagle will present Awards for Musician of the Year and Vocal Event of the Year, as well as the CMA Broadcast Awards, just prior to the start of the broadcast. The Awards are acknowledged during the televised program.

    Warner Bros. artist John Michael Montgomery has had 15 career CMA Award nominations and two wins including Horizon Award and Single of the Year for “I Swear” in 1994. Montgomery has had 15 No. 1 hits and has sold 15 million albums to date.

    Chris Cagle’s Capitol Nashville debut release, Play It Loud, has been certified Gold and has spawned hits including “Laredo” and the No. 1 single “I Breathe In, I Breathe Out.”

    Performers previously announced include Brooks & Dunn, Kenny Chesney, Faith Hill, Vince Gill, Alan Jackson, Toby Keith, Alison Krauss and Union Station (with Musician of the Year nominee Jerry Douglas), Carolyn Dawn Johnson, Martina McBride, Montgomery Gentry, Nickel Creek, Brad Paisley, Dolly Parton, Rascal Flatts, Kim Richey (who will perform with Brooks & Dunn), George Strait, Travis Tritt, Shania Twain, Keith Urban, Phil Vassar, Lee Ann Womack and Darryl Worley.

    Continuing a tradition of shining the spotlight on emerging talent, three newcomers will perform abbreviated versions of their hits leading into a commercial break including Kellie Coffey, Rebecca Lynn Howard and Joe Nichols.

    Presenters previously announced include Jessica Andrews, Clint Black and Lisa Hartman Black, Tracy Byrd, Deana Carter, Terri Clark, Tammy Cochran, George Jones, Blake Shelton, Trick Pony and Mark Wills.

For more on the awards see here.

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

About Eric Olsen

Career media professional and serial entrepreneur Eric Olsen flung himself into the paranormal world in 2012, creating the America's Most Haunted brand and co-authoring the award-winning America's Most Haunted book, published by Berkley/Penguin in Sept, 2014. Olsen is co-host of the nationally syndicated broadcast and Internet radio talk show After Hours AM; his entertaining and informative America's Most Haunted website and social media outlets are must-reads: [email protected],, Pinterest America's Most Haunted. Olsen is also guitarist/singer for popular and wildly eclectic Cleveland cover band The Props.

Check Also

NAB 2022

NAB Show: Live Again in Las Vegas with Drew Carey, Nick Cannon, Lester Holt

The NAB Show returns to Las Vegas after two years of COVID-forced downtime, and is bigger than ever with over 900 exhibitors.