Tuesday , April 23 2024
While Springsteen fans anxiously await word on a new E Street Band album, it appears that the Boss isn't quite done with those Seeger Sessions.

Bruce Springsteen To Release Live CD/DVD From Seeger Sessions Band/Tour

While Bruce Springsteen fans anxiously await the latest word on sessions said to be taking place in Atlanta for a new album with the E Street Band and producer Brendan O'Brien, it appears that the Boss isn't quite done with his 2006 side trip into more traditional folk music. In fact, it is now official that a live CD and DVD from the critically praised Seeger Sessions tour from last year will see the light of day this summer.

Live In Dublin, recorded over three nights worth of shows last November with the Seeger Sessions Band (who are billed here as just the "Sessions Band") will be released simultaneously by Sony on DVD (including Hi-Def Blu-Ray) as well as on a two-disc audio CD set on June 5.

Fiercely debated in the early going by some fans who saw it as a "vanity project" of sorts, most who eventually saw the live shows supporting Springsteen's 2006 We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions release agree they were revelations, which saw Bruce playing looser and more relaxed than he has been in years. Unfortunately many fans had to rely either on bootleg releases or the great word of mouth reviews that the tour received to hear any of it, as these shows played far fewer cities than your typical Springsteen extravaganza.

In addition to live versions of material from The Seeger Sessions, album, Live In Dublin's 23 songs will also feature versions of several classic Springsteen tracks newly "Seeger-ized" by the "Sessions Band" including such pearls as "Growin Up," "Blinded By The Light" and "Atlantic City." Also included is "American Land," a new song debuted on the tour, previously only available in the expanded edition of The Seeger Sessions.

The DVD was edited by Thom Zimmy, while the audio was mixed by Bob Clearmountain, and mastered by Bob Ludwig–the same team responsible for previous Grammy winning live releases from Springsteen.

Here is the complete track listing for Live In Dublin:

1. Atlantic City
2. Old Dan Tucker
3. Eyes on the Prize
4. Jesse James
5. Further on Up the Road
6. O Mary Don't You Weep
7. Erie Canal
8. If I Should Fall Behind
9. My Oklahoma Home
10. Highway Patrolman
11. Mrs. McGrath
12. How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live?
13. Jacob's Ladder
14. Long Time Comin'
15. Open All Night
16. Pay Me My Money Down
17. Growin' Up
18. When the Saints Go Marching In
19. This Little Light of Mine
20. American Land
21. Blinded By the Light

Bonus Songs:
22. Love of the Common People
23. We Shall Overcome

About Glen Boyd

Glen Boyd is the author of Neil Young FAQ, released in May 2012 by Backbeat Books/Hal Leonard Publishing. He is a former BC Music Editor and current contributor, whose work has also appeared in SPIN, Ultimate Classic Rock, The Rocket, The Source and other publications. You can read more of Glen's work at the official Neil Young FAQ site. Follow Glen on Twitter and on Facebook.

Check Also


CES 2023: LG Electronics Wins Dozens of Awards

LG Electronics won dozens of awards at CES for technology that links your world from your home, to your car, and to work. And Fido is part of it, too.