Friday , February 23 2024
Summer treats for your eyes and ears.

BC Music Goodie Bag: Calexico, James Hunter, Foreigner, Lost Boys The Tribe Soundtrack, and Shannon McArdle

Another week of summer has flown by and here we are with another Goodie Bag full of Audio and Video treats for your ears and eyes. This week we have a wide variety of new releases, along with news and tour date information. So, let’s not waste another moment and get on to the good stuff!

Calexico – Carried To Dust
Calexico’s new album, Carried to Dust will be released September 9, 2008 on Quarterstick Records and BC Music has a sneak peak of the album trailer video below.

This is album is yet another example of how the band redefines themselves and grows with the times. They’ve also funneled in the very same energy fans will recognize from their live shows and playing live is exactly how the band plans to promote the album this summer. Here are a few of their upcoming tour dates (including stops in Canada, the states, and Europe), followed by the video.

Calexico Live

  • 7/25/08 – Calgary Folk Music Festiv, Calgary, Canada
  • 7/27/08 – Robert Z Hawking Amp, Reno, NV
  • 8/03/08 – Newport Folk Festival, Newport, RI
  • 9/10/08 – Tripod, Dublin, Ireland
  • 9/11/08 – Queens Hall, Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • 9/12/08 – Carling Academy, Oxford, United Kingdom
  • 9/13/08 – Leadmill, Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • 9/14/08 – End of the Road Festival, Dorset, United Kingdom
  • 9/24/08 – Webster Hall, New York, NY
  • 9/25/08 – World Music Festival, Chicago, IL
James Hunter – The Hard Way!
This new release from James Hunter features the new single, “Jacqueline.” Which you will be sure to hear when he hits the road with Chris Issak. If you aren’t able to catch Hunter this summer, don’t despair, you can check out MP3s to two songs from The Hard Way! right here: “Don’t Do Me No Favors” (Quicktime and Windows Media) and “The Hard Way” (Quicktime and Windows Media)

James Hunter Tour Dates:

  • August 7 Denver, CO Botanic Gardens
  • August 8 Boulder, CO Chautaugua Auditorium
  • August 9 Morrison, CO Red Rocks Amphitheatre (w/ George Thorogood and Buddy Guy)
  • August 10 San Jose, CA San Jose Jazz Festival(Headlining)
  • August 13 Minneapolis, MN Zoo Amphitheater
  • August 15 Chicago, IL Venue TBA (Headlining)
  • August 16 Lisle, IL Morton Arboretum
  • August 17 Rochester, MI Meadow Brook Music Festival
  • August 20 New York, NY Nokia Theater
  • August 21 Vienna, VA Wolftrap
  • August 23 Burlington, VT The Higher Ground (Headlining)
  • August 24 Bridgeport, CT The Klein Memorial Auditorium
  • August 26 Hampton Beach, NH Hampton Beach Casino
  • August 28 Cohasset, MA South Shore Music Circus
  • August 29 Westbury, NY Westbury Music Theater
  • August 30 Woodstock, NY Bearsville Theater (Headlining)

Foreigner – No End In Sight: The Very Best of Foreigner
On Tuesday, July 15, Rhino Records is releasing the latest greatest hits album from Foreigner. Aside from all the memorable tracks there are two brand new songs and one live cut on the 32 track, 2 disc album. The Widget below contains a six-song playlist from the album as well as a bunch of audio/video goodies for our readers.

For more information on Foreigner and this greatest hits package, check out the band’s Official Myspace profile and their website.

Lost Boys The Tribe Soundtrack
The Lost Boys The Tribe Soundtrack will be in stores July 22, 2008, but you can get an audio sample by going to the available e-card.

The first single from the soundtrack will be Aiden’s “Cry Little Sister,” a remake of the song which was also featured in the original movie. Look for the video from this song in all the usual places soon.

Lost Boys The Tribe (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Track Listing:

  1. “Cry Little Sister (Theme from THE LOST BOYS)” – Aiden
  2. “Too Much, Too Young, Too Fast” – Airbourne
  3. “Don’t Speak (I Came To Make A Bang)” – Eagles of Death Metal
  4. “Summertime” – Yeah Whatever
  5. “Burrito” (Live Acoustic) – Seether
  6. “Kingdom” – Dave Gahan
  7. “Long Way Down” – G. Love & Special Sauce
  8. “Wish You Were Here” – PJ & The Chile Rellenos
  9. “In My Blood” – Starsailor
  10. “Only To Haunt You” – The Von Bondies
  11. “For My Friends” – Blind Melon
  12. “Knuckles” – The Hold Steady
  13. “Nine Thou (Grant Mohrman Superstars Remix)” – Styles of Beyond
  14. “Day Fire” – Hindu Kush
  15. “Dizzy” – Jackpot
  16. “Suite” – Nathan Barr

Shannon McArdle – Summer of the Whore
Shannon McArdle, formally of the Mendoza Line will be releasing her first solo album, Summer of the Whore on August 19 of this year. Though she hasn’t left the group completely behind. Collaborating with her on the LP was Adam D. Gold, also of the Mendoza Line.

McArdle explains in a recent press release that Summer of the Whore isn’t what you’d call an upbeat album. “It’s very strange going back and listening to the record. When I wrote and recorded the songs last summer, my emotions were completely exposed. I had no interest in veiling them in any way. Subtlety was not something that appealed to me at the time. I’m glad for that.”

Follow the link to stream or download the first single from the album Poison My Cup.

About Connie Phillips

Check Also

SXSW Film Review: Alt-Rock Documentary ‘I Get Knocked Down’

In Dunstan Bruce's quasi-documentary about his former band, Chumbawamba, he reflects on his life as he's rounding 60.