Home / Tag Archives: Mystery (page 159)

Tag Archives: Mystery

By a Spider’s Thread – by Laura Lippman

Good writers often use the genre novel to explore social themes, subjects, or communities we may not often be exposed to in the traditional media. That is what Laura Lippman has done with her latest book, the eighth in the wonderful series featuring Tess Monaghan, a Jewish-Irish private investigator, and it is one of the year's best crime fiction novels so far. Read More »

Indelible

In the tradition of Thomas Harris and Patrica Cornwall, Karin Slaughter offers up the latest installment in her crime series featuring medical examiner Sara Linton. Read More »

The Enemy – by Lee Child

“The Enemy” is the newest novel in the Jack Reacher series of adventure/mystery novels by Lee Child. Reacher was introduced in the earlier novels as a retired US Army Military Police officer who lives out of a suitcase, and resolves crimes. Lee Child is actually an Englishman by birth, who has only recently moved to the US. He had a ... Read More »

The Narrows – Michael Connelly

The Narrows is the latest crime thriller from Michael Connelly, and the one which firmly establishes him as a brand with a franchise. Not that is neccessarily bad, in fact, it is par for the course in the mystery/crime genre. The Narrows is the sequel to one of Connelly’s early novels The Poet, which featured FBI agents after a serial ... Read More »

Stephen Coonts’ Victory

A few days ago, I finished up Victory, by Stephen Coonts. I had picked this up from a remainder pile about a week ago, having read one of his other books at some time in my past. There’s a reason why it was in the pile. To be honest, I’m not sure as to why I continue to grab books ... Read More »

The Zenith Angle

Today at lunch, I finished reading Bruce Sterling’s The Zenith Angle. This was a rather unusual book. Starting out on the morning on September 11, 2001, a computer scientist finds his world changed. After the day’s events, he begins to work for the government. Basically, this book starts out as a cypher-punkish exploration into computer technology, bridges over to a ... Read More »

The Last Jihad

Today, I finished up Joel Rosenburg’s The Last Jihad. This was a complete piece of puff; I finished it in two sittings. Nominally set in the near future, the US is attacked by agents of Saddam Hussein. Weapons of mass destruction are used, and a Wall Street analyst bounds into action to save the world. Really. A stock market guy. ... Read More »