Today on Blogcritics
Home » Tag Archives: art

Tag Archives: art

Interdrone: Fifteen Resources to Get You up in the Air with Your Own Drone


Want to become a drone expert? Here are some resources, provided at Interdrone, to get you started! Read More »

Book Review: The Accidental Art Thief by Joan Schweighardt

Fans of Alice Hoffman, Sue Monk Kid, and J.K. Rowling (The Casual Vacancy) will surely enjoy Schweighardt’s The Accidental Thief.

"The Accidental Art Thief" is a well-written literary novel with complex, skillfully developed characters. Read More »

Interview: Joan Schweighardt, Author of ‘The Accidental Art Thief’

Fans of Alice Hoffman, Sue Monk Kid, and J.K. Rowling (The Casual Vacancy) will surely enjoy Schweighardt’s The Accidental Thief.

Please welcome my special guest Joan Schweighardt. Joan has been a writer all her life. She makes her living writing/editing for clients, and when she has free time, she writes for herself. The Accidental Art Thief is her fifth novel, and she’s here today to tell us all about it. Congratulations on the release of your latest book, The Accidental ... Read More »

Artquake’s ‘Colour Your Canvas: Democracy, Art & Dialogue’ Event Empowers Young Vancouver Artists

2015 04 03 Colour Your Canvas by Artquake

The exhibit included the unveiling of the Democracy Mural project, a two-piece mural created by a group of youths between the ages of 13 and 25 portraying their vision for the future of democracy. Read More »

SXSW: Fire, Rodriguez, and Frazetta


It's a rare moment when two artistic talents you have admired for decades intersect in your presence. Robert Rodriguez has been one of my favorite directors since I saw 'From Dusk Till Dawn'. Frank Frazetta has been my favorite artist since his paintings began appearing on the covers of Tarzan and Conan books in the 1960s. At SXSW, I participated in a tour of the Robert Rodriguez Museum, conducted by Rodriguez. He explained how, like many others, he found the paintings of Frank Frazetta amazing and inspirational for his own art. He recalled how when he first met Frazetta, and saw his original paintings up close, he was amazed at the depth and detail that never appeared in any of the prints or book covers. Read More »

Book Review: ‘The Daily Zoo’ by Chris Ayers

Animal Art, Chris Ayers

A menagerie of wild creativity in a celebration of life. Read More »

Interview: Marly Youmans, Author of ‘Glimmerglass: A Novel’, Poet and Teacher, Part 2 of 2

Marly Youmans, Author_Version 2

'If I could tell my young self something, I'd say that she should not let anything take away her joy in making things out of words – that whatever tends to take away from that deep play and pleasure should be questioned.' Read More »

Interview: Marly Youmans, Author of ‘Glimmerglass: A Novel,’ Poet and Writing Instructor, Part 1 of 2

Marly Youmans Glimmerglass novel

'Anything that deepens your life is of use to a writer. Anything that makes you a bigger person on the inside is of use. Anything that helps you understand other people is of use. And anything that causes you to grieve, love, be sheltering, be upset, and feel joy is of use.' Read More »

Software Review: ArtRage 4.5 From Ambient Design

ArtRage 4.5

Now with a 64-bit upgrade, ArtRage 4.5 has all the tools novice and accomplished artists alike will need, without too much complexity. Read More »

Board Game Review: Fresco

fresco game

Nothing is quite so exciting as grabbing a paintbrush and hurrying to beat fellow artists to the Church’s favor. Read More »