Fourth down and 14 yards to go, last play before the half and the team with the ball needs a score before intermission. The quarterback drops back and throws a long pass. My job as a referee is to watch the passer and make sure no late hits draw a “roughing the passer” foul. The pass is away and the QB is unscathed. The crowd roars and I see the line judge give an “incomplete pass” signal. Then the back judge gives several short blasts on his whistle—he has a foul.
Players from both teams are jumping up and down anticipating a call in their favor as I run down the field to meet the official. He reports his foul without pointing, and I turn to face the press box with a signal that will leave one team happy and the other incensed.
Two test questions seem to turn up every year on our rules exam. See how you do.
TRUE - FALSE
1) Any contact (once the pass is in the air) between a defender and a pass receiver is pass interference.
2) In order to have pass interference, there must be contact.
Here’s the relevant rule in high school:
It is forward-pass interference if:
A. Any player of either team who is beyond the neutral zone interferes with an eligible opponent’s opportunity to move toward, catch or bat the pass.
B. Any player hinders a opponent’s vision without making an attempt to catch, intercept or bat the ball, even though no contact was made.
The correct answer to both questions is false.
An important distinction between college and high school rules is that in high school, we have no “un-catchable pass” rule. Also, pass interference restrictions for the offense begin at the snap. In high school, the receiver could actually commit a foul before the pass is thrown! These all add up to confusion and disappointment with the fans. It’s not unusual to see lots of contact involving several players that ends in a “no-call” result.