Home / pixar


Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Pixar is an American movie studio begun in 1979 as the Graphics Group, part of the Computer Division of Lucasfilm. It pioneered computer animation and feature length computer animated movies for a mainstream audience created with PhotoRealistic RenderMan, the industry-standard image-rendering application programming interface used to generate high-quality images.

Pixar has produced twelve feature films, beginning with Toy Story in 1995. Its films, including A Bug’s Life, Monsters Inc, The Incredibles, Finding Nemo, Ratatouille, Cars, Wall-E, Up, and the Toy Story sequels have earned 26 Academy Awards, seven Golden Globes, and three Grammy Awards, among many other awards and acknowledgments.

In 1986, Pixar was acquired by Apple Computer co-founder Steve Jobs in 1986. The Walt Disney Company bought Pixar in 2006 at a valuation of $7.4 billion.

Pertinent blog posts:

Pixar Top 12 Movie Moments

Pixar’s The Incredibles Possible Sequel

Powered by

About Chris Dee