Home / Ohio Critics Recognize the Year’s Best

Ohio Critics Recognize the Year’s Best

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Now that just about all the other critic associations in the world have made their picks for the year's best in cinema, it is time for the critics of Central Ohio to chime in! Why is this so significant? Because yours truly is a member! Here are the winners from the Fifth Annual Central Ohio Film Critics Awards:

Best Films

  • Children of Men
  • The Departed
  • Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan
  • Pan’s Labyrinth
  • Little Miss Sunshine
  • Brick
  • United 93
  • Babel
  • Thank You for Smoking
  • Casino Royale

Best Director

  • Martin Scorsese, The Departed
  • Runner-up: Alfonso Cuarón, Children of Men

Best Actor

  • Leonardo DiCaprio, The Departed
  • Runner-up: Sacha Baron Cohen, Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan

Best Actress

  • Helen Mirren, The Queen
  • Runner-up: Meryl Streep, The Devil Wears Prada

Best Supporting Actor

  • Eddie Murphy, Dreamgirls
  • Runner-up: Alan Arkin, Little Miss Sunshine

Best Supporting Actress

  • Jennifer Hudson, Dreamgirls
  • Runner-up: Rinko Kikuchi, Babel

Best Ensemble

  • The Departed
  • Runner-up: Little Miss Sunshine

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)

  • Clive Owen, Children of Men and Inside Man
  • Runner-up: Leonardo DiCaprio, Blood Diamond and The Departed

Breakthrough Film Artist

  • Jennifer Hudson, Dreamgirls
  • Runner-up: Sacha Baron Cohen, Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan and Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby

Best Cinematography

  • Dean Semler, Apocalypto
  • Runner-up: Guillermo Navarro, Pan’s Labyrinth

Best Screenplay – Adapted

  • William Monahan, The Departed
  • Runner-up: Alfonso Cuarón, Timothy J. Sexton, David Arata, Mark Fergus, and Hawk Ostby, Children of Men

Best Screenplay – Original

  • Rian Johnson, Brick
  • Runner-up: Michael Arndt, Little Miss Sunshine

Best Score

  • Gustavo Santaolalla, Babel
  • Runner-up: Nathan Johnson, Brick

Best Documentary

  • An Inconvenient Truth
  • Runners-up (tie): Jesus Camp and Wordplay

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Pan’s Labyrinth
  • Runner-up: Letters from Iwo Jima

Best Animated Film

  • Cars
  • Runner-up: Monster House

Best Overlooked Film

  • Brick
  • Runner-up: The Descent

For more information about the Central Ohio Film Critics Association, please visit their website or e-mail them.

The complete list of members and their affiliations:

Kevin Carr (ColumbuScene, 7M Pictures), Nick Chordas (The Columbus Dispatch), Bill Clark (From The Balcony), Nikki Davis (Columbus Alive), John DeSando (90.5 WCBE), Johnny DiLoretto (Fox 28 WTTE), Chad Dull (The Other Paper), Frank Gabrenya (The Columbus Dispatch), Jordan Gentile (The Other Paper), Kaizaad Kotwal (C Magazine, Gay Peoples Chronicle), Kristin Dreyer Kramer (Nights and Weekends), Joyce Long (820 WOSU), Rico Long (820 WOSU), Clay Lowe (90.5 WCBE), Colin Mack (U Weekly), Hope Madden (The Other Paper), Paul Markoff (WOCC-TV3), David Medsker (Bullz-Eye), Neil Miller (Columbus Movie Guy, BC Magazine), J. Caleb Mozzocco (Donewaiting.com), Lori Pearson (Kids-In-Mind, Critics.com), Mark Pfeiffer (Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema, WOCC-TV3), Margaret Quamme (The Columbus Dispatch), Dave Redelberger (WLVQ, WHOK, WAZU), John Ross (Columbus Alive), Melissa Starker (Columbus Alive), Peter Tonguette (freelance), Jason Zingale (Bullz-Eye).

Powered by

About Neil Miller