Home / Music / Reviews music / Music Review: Voltio

Music Review: Voltio

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Many of you might have seen him on MTV's "My Block – Puerto Rico", but others know he is considered one of the best lyricists to come out of "La Isla del Encanto".  The stage is now set to place Voltio at the top of the Latin HipHop game.  But the road has been rough; like many of today's English HipHop artists, Voltio has been on the grind for a couple of years. After good response from his first album, his Sony release has been well received as well and is in plenty of stereos.

The Album flows naturally from beginning to end. There was not one track I felt I needed to fast forward (With the exception of songs like "Chulin Culin Chunfly"; that you heard so much you just don't want to hear it anymore.).

There are a couple of cuts on the album that are truly remarkable in nature; you will find yourself listening to them again and again.  One of those tracks is "Julio Marana"; a track Voltio recorded with Tego Calderon.  The song has a story line between Voltio and Tego about a person living in the streets of Puerto Rico. And no I don't mean those tourist locations, I mean the ghetto.  The video is out for it too, so if you don't know Spanish and think this would be a cool song to listen to, go find it online. It's out there!

There was one more song that stood out to me, not because of the song itself, but because of the people on it.  3-6 Mafia?!  Yea that's right…Voltio can add "doing a song with academy award Winners" to his resume.

Beatwize, the bulk of the album is produced by Mas flow productions. They do a great job at giving Voltio a very varied array of music. Although the Album has been out for a little while, you can definitely still pick this bad boy up and listen to the album… I don't think you will be disappointed, but don't take my word for it.  

Track Listing:

01. Intro (Talk Is Cheap) [3]02. Chulin Culin Chunfly [4]03. Chevere [3.5]04. Dame De Eso [4]05. No Vamos A Parar [3.5]06. La Culebra [4]07. Maleante De Carton [4]08. Bombon [3.5]09. Julito Marana [4]10. Matando La Liga [3.5]11. Bumper [3.5]12. Un Dedo [3]13. Voltio [4]14. Chulin Culin Chunfly (Street Mix) [4]


By: Blast Boogie
Artist: Voltio
Album: Voltio
Label: White Lion/Sony Music

Overall rating: 3.5/5
Beats rating: 4/5
Lyrics rating: 3.5/5
Music Quality: 4/5

Powered by

About Blast Boogie