Home / Music / Reviews music / Music Review: The Beatles – Love

Music Review: The Beatles – Love

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Remixes can be a tricky thing but I was intrigued when I learned Beatles' producer Sir George Martin had gotten permission from remaining band members Ringo Starr and Paul McCartney, as well as Yoko Ono, and the Harrison estate, to make experimental mixes from the band’s master tapes in a collaboration with Cirque du Soleil. 

I have more trust in projects like this (which have the potential to be poorly executed) when the original artists give their permission to let someone try something different with their work, than say a record company saying, “we own the rights we can do what we please.”

The sample I received contained four songs out of the 26 featured on the full-length CD:

  • "Lady Madonna"
  • "While My Guitar Gently Weeps"
  • "Octopus' Garden"
  • "Strawberry Fields Forever"

Of these tracks I was only familiar with the last two. The remixes have a more modern day feel to as the original songs were definitely a product their day. Martin has dropped in new drums, guitars and basslines and has included sampling. instead of using other aritists’ works for those samples, he fuses previously recorded Beatles' music, rhythms or spoken words. Though by doing this there’s a large margin of error, where the new sound loses the integrity of the original, this synchronization of different styles and era is deftly done.  My wife, who has never really heard a Beatles song, said she could tell the difference in the tracks of the original version and the new additions and liked what she heard.

I wish the sampler had more songs with which I was more familiar, like “Help!,” “Revolution,” “Back In The U.S.S.R,” “Blackbird,” or “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band,” but then again this is a sampler whose main purpose is to give you a taste and prompt you to go out and buy the full CD.

I’ve heard hardcore fans either love these remixes or hate them, but as a casual fan of The Beatles I liked what I’ve heard so far.

Grade B

Powered by

About Blake

  • yclipse

    Does any of the revenue go to Michael Jackson?

  • Bob Shannon

    Only familiar with the last two, eh? Do you really think you’re qualified to be a music critic?

  • Bob Evans

    Yes, I agree with the other Bob. Your wife has never heard a Beatles song? Unless your wife has been living in North Korea, I doubt she has NEVER heard a Beatles song. I like LOVE, but it is a shame that some people will not experience the entire Beatles collection, due to these types of projects.

  • George

    I just the beatles new love cd for christmas and i have to tell this cd sucks…i never thought i would say that about a beatels cd…..

  • MIKE

    why make something old sound new? OH YEAH MORE MONEY!
    i prefer the original recordings.

    This cd is shit!!!!!!

  • Dirk

    This album is fantastic and could only have been done by George Martin (with help from his son, Giles). If you aren’t really into this band you will probabaly like it. If you are really into this band and know thier material well this is an absolute joy to listen to. Just when you thought there was absolutely nothing new left to squeeze out a band that has not been together for over 30 years….WOW! “Within You Without You/Tomorow Never Knows” alone is worth the price of this. I can’t wait to see the show in Vegas. I can only guess what the crew at Cirque is going to do with “Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite”.

  • Marina

    To all who thought the CD was awful. It’s quite obvious that you do not know the Beatles. George Martin & son Giles did an amazing job of blending various songs together, this was not knew drums and quitars added, it was all old Beatles tracks combined together to show just how wonderful these 4 lads were. Some tracks were never heard before, it is not suppose to sound like the original record that we all bought in the 60’s. Those CD’s/records you can go out and buy if you just need to hear that version. The Love CD is truly a masterpiece because you can hear (if you have the ear)all the combinations and how several songs blend together so beautifully. Truly an act of love and genious putting this together. Just listen very closely next time without trying to pick out one song.

  • Mark

    Excellent album 5.1 surround sound really makes a difference..while my guitar gently weeps is truly amazing