Home / Music / Reviews music / Music Review: Peggy Lee – The Lost ’40s & ’50s Capitol Masters

Music Review: Peggy Lee – The Lost ’40s & ’50s Capitol Masters

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

As a long time music collector in my thirties, I've always had an appreciation for what I like to call "pure vocalists" — singers who seem to be able to belt out any song and make it their own. This talented group tends to cross musical genres: standards, jazz, pop — their tremendous vocal range gives them a vast catalog of songs to chose from. While many people will automatically think of Frank Sinatra and Judy Garland as being great vocalists in modern time, Peggy Lee deserves a mention on that list as well.

Peggy Lee is considered one of the most important musical influences of the 20th century. Artists including Madonna, Paul McCartney, Dusty Springfield, Elvis Costello and others have cited Lee as a mentor. To influence such a diverse group of well known entertainers Peggy Lee was obviously a special performer. Duke Ellington once said, "If I'm the Duke, then Peggy's the Queen."

peggyanddave2.JPGFor those of you who may only remember Peggy for her 1958 recording of "Fever," this month will be a great time to dig deeper into her discography. On May 27, 2007, Collectors' Choice Music will release The Lost '40s & '50s Capitol Masters. The 2-CD set features 39 tracks, none of which have ever been on CD and 13 of which have never been released. The unreleased tracks are some of the best gems on The '40s & '50s Capitol Masters. Peggy recorded "A Cottage for Sale" in December 1944 at only 23 years old. Her voice sounds so fresh and unaffected. The talent is clearly there, it's almost like she's just coming into her voice. Also featured is a wonderful alternate version of "Don't Be So Mean to Baby," Lee's first recording of a song she co-wrote with her first husband, Dave Barbour. The version released here was the first recording, and seems flawless, yet Capitol actually released a version of the song that was recorded three months later.

There are a couple of previously unreleased tracks from this CD that have been in constant rotation on my playlist since I received it. The first, "A Hundred Years from Today" is a wonderful song about living every day to the fullest. Lee's voice is full of such emotional tenderness, it almost brought me to tears the first time I heard it. Like Judy Garland, Peggy seemed to have an ability to pull the listener right into the emotion of the song, no matter the subject.

The second song on my playlist is "That 'Ol Devil (Won't Get Me). Written by Peggy Lee and Dave Barbour, this is a fun song recorded with Louis Prima and his Orchestra in 1951. Prima's unrestrained style and Lee's wonderful vocals mix well. I could help but feel like this song was a bit of a clue as to the fun Miss Lee would have with 1958's "Fever."

Along with the 39 songs, The Lost '40s & '50s Capitol Masters includes wonderful liner notes written by David Torresen, editor of the official Peggy Lee website. The liner notes also include the thoughts of Peggy Lee's daughter, Nicki Lee Foster and some candid photos.

Peggy Lee had impeccable rhythmic timing and a voice that could convey the subtle nuances of every song she sang. The Lost '40s & '50s Capitol Masters puts the spotlight on her tremendous talents as a vocalist and songwriter.

Complete Track List

Disc One
(recorded 1944 to 1949)

1. Ain't Goin' No Place
2. A Cottage for Sale (previously unreleased)
3. Don't Be So Mean to Baby (alternate version – previously unreleased)
4. Aren't You Kind of Glad We Did?
5. I've Had My Moments (previously unreleased)
6. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot (alternate version – previously unreleased)
7. Trouble Is a Man (previously unreleased)
8. Music, Maestro, Please (previously unreleased)
9. It's Lovin' Time
10. Ain'tcha Ever Comin' Back?
11. It Takes a Long, Long Train with a Red Caboose
12. The Freedom Train (with Johnny Mercer, Benny Goodman, Margaret Whiting and The Pied Pipers)
13. A Hundred Years from Today (previously unreleased)
14. Keep Me in Mind (with Benny Goodman)
15. Love, Your Spell Is Everywhere
16. Love Ye (previously unreleased)
17. What'll It Getcha? (previously unreleased)
18. I Wanna Go Where You Go Then I'll Be Happy
19. I Don't Know What to Do Without You, Baby (previously unreleased)
20. Neon Signs

Disc Two
(recorded 1949 to 1952)

1. A Man Wrote a Song
2. Sunshine Cake
3. Run for the Roundhouse, Nellie
4. The Cannonball Express
5. Don't Give Me a Ring on the Telephone (previously unreleased)
6. If I Could Steal You from Somebody Else (previously unreleased)
7. Ay, Ay, Chug a Chug
8. Something to Remember You By (previously unreleased)
9. Climb Up the Mountain
10. Pick Up Your Marbles and Go Home (previously unreleased)
11. That Ol' Devil Won't Get Me
12. If You Turn Me Down
13. Boulevard Cafe
14. It Never Happen' to Me
15. So Far, So Good
16. My Magic Heart
17. Telling Me Yes, Telling Me No (with Mel Torme)
18. Shame on You
19. Goin' on a Hayride

Powered by

About Rebecca Wright