Home / Music / Music Review: Ocote Soul Sounds – Taurus

Music Review: Ocote Soul Sounds – Taurus

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Let soulful chords and guitar fuzz inch into your space with this resplendent mix of yesterday’s Latin beats and tomorrow’s sounds, as Adrian Quesada of Grupo Fantasma and Martín Perna of Antibalas have teamed up once again for another album from their band known as Ocote Soul Sounds. Taurus is out now.

The first taste is always free and your “Pirata” download comes courtesy of ESL, the mothership of Thievery Corporation and many other satisfying ensembles:

The group teamed up in 2005 with “El Nino Y El Sol” and within a six-year span, the musical soulmates have evolved into a seven-piece ensemble with a total of four albums, all of which have gorgeous textures of sound and audible Persian rugs, with beautiful variations from song to song.

Taurus brings to you cinematic orchestra stylings, psychedelic Afro-Latin funk grooves, and Latin breakbeat rhythms that at times make you feel like you’re at the coolest 3 a.m. party, and at others times like you’re floating in the middle of a Mexican desert.

And, there’s a message. While America continues to eat its young, Martín channels Gil Scott Heron, rhythmically reminding us to “Speak Truth To Power,” and of the dangers of being placated by big money sports. Ocote has always been about more than sounds. It’s been about using music as a catalyst that sows discourse rather than discord.

June is Black Music Month and a good time to buy Taurus. Respect music, its legacy and promise.

These cuts are ripe for DJs everywhere to sample:
1. “Primavera”
2. “Pirata”

3. “En El Temblor”
4. “Pathways”
5. “STTP (Speak Truth To Power)”
6. “Cumbia La Magdalena”
7. “Pan y Circo”
8. “Agua Santa”
9. “Tumba del Payaso”
10. “Contigo ames”
11. “Nessuno”
12. “Guantanamo”

For more info, go to http://www.eslmusic.com, and http://www.myspace.com/ocotesoulsounds.

Powered by

About Earl G. Lundquist