Home / Music / Reviews music / Music Review: Nina Simone Gets Remixed & Re-Imagined

Music Review: Nina Simone Gets Remixed & Re-Imagined

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

As the daughter of a Jazz player, I grew up with the music. There's the famous story of my Pops playing in the band behind Billie Holiday at the Grammy Awards back in the day; she turned around to wave at him and say "Hello, Buell." Haunting voices from Jazz swirled around my head. With the exception of Billie, and Ella, perhaps no other woman's voice was as haunting and moving as that of the illustrious Nina Simone.

Legacy is presenting a brand new Nina Simone album; well, sort of brand new. Some of her classic songs have been remixed on it by a variety of DJs/producers, from Coldcut (remixers of Eric B. & Rakim's "Paid in Full") to Jazeem to DJ Logic. There are a variety of styles and tempos. While Jazz purists (hello, Buell, if you're reading) may take umbrage at the remix concept, anyone of the Hip Hop generation who isn't already a fan of Miz Simone should definitely take a listen.

To those Jazz purists who were undoubtedly on some Be-Bop shit like I'm on some Hip-Hop shit now, remember this: Our movement is the rebirth of yours. We're your children in soul, if not in blood. The spirit of Jazz — free, modern, or otherwise — is alive in this Hip Hop generation, which I'm proud and blessed to have been born into.

That unparalleled voice of hers lives on, haunting as ever. Re-Imagine that.

"So while you imitatin' Al Capone / I be Nina Simone and defecating on your microphone" — Lauryn Hill

Click here to download "Turn Me On" – alternative versions not available on the CD!
 – Vocal Mix
 – Main Mix

Nina Simone at MySpace

Check out these 30-second clips for a sneak peek at the album:
Funkier Than A Mosquito's Tweeter – (Jazzeem's All Styles Remix)
Ain't Got No/I Got Life – (Groovefinder Remix) (From the Broadway musical, Hair)
Here Comes The Sun – (Francois K. Remix)

1. I Can’t See Nobody (Daniel Y. Remix)
2. Funkier Than A Mosquito’s Tweeter (Jazzeem’s All Styles Remix)
3. Ain’t Got No – I Got Life (Groovefinder Remix)
4. Save Me (Coldcut Remix)
5. Turn Me On (Tony Humphries Got U Turned On Dub)
6. Here Comes The Sun (François K. Remix)
7. Westwind (Organica Remix)
8. Go To Hell (Mowo Remix)
9. My Man’s Gone Now (DJ Wally Remix)
10. The Look Of Love (Madison Park vs. Lenny B Remix)
11. O-o-h Child (Nickodemus Remix)
12. To Love Somebody (Chris Coco’s Stadium Rocker Remix)
13. Obeah Woman (DJ Logic Remix)

Powered by

About MJ