Home / Music / Reviews music / Music Review: Brooks And Dunn- Hard Workin’ Man

Music Review: Brooks And Dunn- Hard Workin’ Man

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

After their debut album everyone thought that the only place Brooks and Dunn could go was down. But Hard Workin' Man proves why, to this day, they are still a formidable duo.  It’s not hard to see why the five singles released stormed the country charts. As far as these boys are concerned, they can do no wrong. They have great harmonies, great lyrics, and their voices really compliment each other.

One of the things I love about this band is while there are many new country sounds Brooks and Dunn tend to stray towards the sounds of the old and they know it works for them too. While many of the songs seem to have a common theme, about leaving something behind, all the songs are very different in their own way.

One of my favorite tracks on this album is "Rock My World (Little Country Girl)". It just sucks you in and keeps your foot tapping. Despite the fact Brooks and Dunn have  released many albums since Hard Workin' Man and their debut, Brand New Man, they are definitely two favorites of mine. And for anyone who loves rollicky country music mixed with some beautiful ballads they are definitely the albums for you.

Even the dance remix of "Boot Scootin Boogie", is fun, despite my belief that mixing dance music and country music together is oh-so wrong. The only complaint is that it's a little too dragged out. Definitely an eye opener for new fans and one that old-time fans should already have in the collection.

Songs not to miss: "We’ll Burn That Bridge", "Mexican Minute", "Rock My World" and "Our Time Is Coming".

I give it 4/5

Record Label: Arista
Year: 1993
Track listing:
1. Hard Workin' Man

2. We'll Burn That Bridge
3. Mexican Minutes List
4. Heartbroke Out Of My Mind
5. She Used To Be Mine Liste
6. Rock My World (Little Country Girl)
7. That Ain't No Way To Go
8. Texas Women (Don't Stay Lonely Long)
9. Our Time Is Coming
10. I Can't Put Out This Fire
11. Boot Scootin' Boogie (Club Mix)

Powered by

About jmac76

  • zingzing

    not to be a total nitpicker, but an editor needs to look at the commas in this thing.

  • Not nitpicking at all zing, you have sharper eyes than two editors! Want a job? lol


  • zingzing

    no! that’s what i do for a living! (um… that’s what i’m getting paid to do… right now… hrm…)