Home / Music / Reviews music / Music Review: Britney Spears – Britney

Music Review: Britney Spears – Britney

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

This self-titled album is a huge step away from Britney's traditional bubble-gum pop music. It's a step toward Britney growing up and expanding her style of music. While the album still has traces of bubblegum pop it is definitely more mature, sexier, and slightly darker than her usual music. Fans of Britney will be surprised by the raspiness of her voice, and the sexiness of her music.

Songs like "I'm Not A Girl, Not Yet A Woman" is an indication of her own life, and how much she has changed in the years since she came to us with "…Baby One More Time".
It shows a wistfulness, and an eagerness to grow up yet at the same time a slight reluctance. The album has become less pop and more music that you can dance to. 

Admittedly there are tracks that take a while to get used to, such as her cover of "I Love Rock N Roll". Her version is a shock to the system, but eventually it grows on you. Older fans, however, may disagree with this. It's not the best version in the world, but it is Britney well… being Britney, and bringing the pop into the song. Younger fans of Britney will probably love this song. With songs such as "Boys", "I'm A Slave For You", and "Bombastic Love", the album oozes of dance numbers, and sex appeal, but as mentioned there's that little touch of innocence in "Not A Girl, Not Yet A Woman".

Britney seems to have taken a step in the right direction with her music though, as she and her record company know that she can not appeal to young girls forever. She needs to find her niche in the grown up market, and this album might just do that for her. Some of the tracks are very cleverly written, such as "Cinderella" which describes how a girl realises that she's not going to be used, or treated like a doll on a guy's chain for the rest of her life. This album, as mentioned before, is a coming of age album. The music is catchy, and take a step in the direction of R and B. A very clever move on behalf of Britney and her team.

I give it 4/5

Track Listing:
1. I'm a Slave 4 U
2. Overprotected
3. Lonely
4. I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman
5. Boys
6. Anticipating
7. I Love Rock & Roll
8. Cinderella
9. Let Me Be
10. Bombastic Love
11. That's Where You Take Me
12. What It's Like to Be Me

Powered by

About jmac76

  • vasso

    better than ever!!