Home / Mortiis’ new album details

Mortiis’ new album details

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Hard News is reporting the following:

Earache Records report that MORTIIS will release an album of new material, entitled The Grudge, is September.

The follow up to 2001’s The Smell Of Rain has been recorded over the last six months at Silvertone Studios in Fredrickstad, Norway by Mortiis (vocals, synths, programming, sound design), Levi Gawron, (guitar), Asmund Sveinunggard (guitar) and Leo Troy (drums) and has been co-produced by Vegard Blomberg. The album is due to be mastered at Norway’s premier facility, The Living Room in Oslo, Norway.

Mortiis himself is saying very little about The Grudge at the moment, other than “It may have taken a while, but we all feel that it was right to spend the last couple of years on the album. We´re now working to meet deadlines and I think people will be mighty surprised again.”

The Grudge will contain ten new tracks, including ‘Decadent And Desperate’ and ‘Broken Skin’, with all the songs drawing from an eclectic mix of inspirations, emotions and experiences,

Once The Grudge is completed Mortiis will be spending the summer months rehearsing for their mammoth upcoming autumn European tour, details of which will be announced in due course.

In related news, as previously reported, Candlelight Records have confirmed May 18th as the US release date for the rare and controversial recording from Norway’s VOND. Selvmord, from the artist more popularly known as Mortiis, is a record that has been unavailable for most US fans of the Norwegian musician and finds reintroduction to US audiences as the artist continues work on his next full-length recording.

Issued to limited release in 1997 (under the guise of Slipp Sorgen Los), Selvmord is a four-song, 50 minute ambient adventure that showcased for the first time the industrial-tinged side of the darkwave/ambient musician. 

“It’s like entering a tunnel, a cave with only sadness and darkness,” notes Amazon.com.  “Some of Mortiis’ best work.”  

Its album artwork sparked immediate controversy on the album’s initial European release – with several territories banning the album. The album later found two album covers so that fans in Germany and other countries could experience the album.

The tracklisting: ‘Selvmord’, ‘Nar Livet Tar Farvel’, ‘Reisen Til en Ny Verden’ and ‘Slipp Sorgen Los’.

Powered by

About Marty Dodge

  • Eric Olsen

    Nice honker on that cover dude.