Home / Culture and Society / Health and Fitness / Know All About Your Heart Chakra

Know All About Your Heart Chakra

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

The Heart Chakra is associated with emotions, feelings, love and hatred. It is located behind the spine in the central channel in the region of the heart, its kshetram (holy place) or superficial activation site situated in the heart region between the breasts.

Appearance:  Heart chakra is represented by a grey flower, with 12 petals, a six-edged star. It has a Hindi inscription: ‘Y’and a dot. The deity of this region is ‘vayu.’ who is smoke-coloured and four-armed, holding a kusha and riding upon an antelope, the animal of this chakra.

Meaning of petals: The twelve petals signify various emotions that a human being has to pass through in his various stages: lust, fraud, indecision, hope, anxiety, longing, repentance, impartiality, arrogance, incompetence, discrimination, and defiance.

Color Green, pink

Sanskrit NameAnahata

Physical Location  Centre of chest

Spiritual Lessons  Forgiveness, unconditional love, letting go, trust, compassion

Physical Dysfunctions  Heart conditions, asthma, lung and breast cancers, thoracic spine, pneumonia, upper back, shoulder problems

Mental and Emotional issues – love, compassion, confidence, inspiration, hope, despair, hate, envy, fear, jealousy, anger, generosity


Information stored inside Heart chakra – connections or “heart strings” to those whom we love


Area of body governed  heart, circulatory system, blood, lungs, rib cage, diaphragm, thymus, breasts, oesophagus, shoulders, arms, hands


Floral Essence for chakra: It is like a perfume, but perfume which highlights chakra qualities. Lotus rainbow flower essence helps to open one’s compassion, heart, feelings and make them clearer. It also creates an emotional balance.


Exercise: To stimulate your Heart chakra do pushups, swim with breast strokes.


Leafy vegetables: spinach, kale, dandelion greens, etc.


Air vegetables: broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, celery, squashes, etc.


Liquids: green teas


Spices: basil, sage, thyme, cilantro, parsley


Gemstone:  Emerald rose quartz


One way to open your Heart chakra is Metta Practice, a powerful Buddhist practice, which helps you to embody unconditional love. ‘Metta’ means living kindness. This practice is about meditating for the well-being of yourself as well as others.

Beginning Metta practice will make your spiritual journey balanced. You will feel your mind and heart healing.


 How to do Metta Practice?


Sit in a comfortable chair or cushion in a place which is quiet. Relax, breathe easily and comfortably. Feel the energy flowing through your body.

Try to start becoming aware from within and try to breathe easily from that area. Visualize and radiate whatever comes to your mind Think about what you want from your heart and you can have it, whether it’s husband, career, boyfriend issues, love. Now say this aloud: “May my friend have lot of strength to fight for the right cause” and it will happen. Continue like this for 15 minutes and conclude it. This way you will be able to open your heart chakra without a lot of pain. 


Chakra healing provides modules and guidance, to activate your Heart chakra and start feeling alive again.

Powered by

About Jill Magso