Home / Herb Alpert Remasters

Herb Alpert Remasters

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Artist: Herb Alpert’s Tijuana Brass
Titles: South Of The Border, The Lonley Bull, Lost Treasures
Genre: Easy Listening
Label: Shout Factory

I bet you did not know that Herb Alpert was the fourth best selling artist of the 60s right behind the Beatles, Elvis and Frank Sinatra? Do not feel alone I had no clue either. I clearly remember being an 8-year-old boy enamored with the cover of Whipped Cream & Other Delights. Do you remember the cover with the shapely woman in a whipped cream dress? Enough said. I cannot seem to remember the music entirely well…but that cover!

South Of The Border (1964) and The Lonely Bull (1962) were groundbreaking landmark albums for Alpert and his ensemble. They single handedly invented the Tijuana sound, not intentionally, it just happened. Alpert had no interest in the music or country of Mexico; he was simply looking for a snappy and colorful atmosphere for his jazz inflected tunes, something unique. He had immense success with that formula and now these superb albums enjoy a sparkling new sound, tasteful CD cases, and informative booklets that explain the evolution of the band and music.

Lost Treasures is exactly what the title says-20 tracks of previously unreleased and rare Alpert treasures that where buried in the vaults for far too long. A majority of the songs are covers, similar to what The Ventures have done in their amazing career. Alpert did not make a career of doing covers, although this collection surely indicates he could have.

I must have listened to all three albums consecutively three or four times before deciding to try something different. I was absolutely mesmerized by this music. Surely, Alpert has inspired many budding trumpet players and still does to this day. His legacy certainly gets its due with these beautifully repackaged releases. The best part about all of this is that there is more to come. Believe me, I will be the first in line waving my hand for copies.

© Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck

February 18, 2005


South Of The Border (1964)

01. South Of The Border
02. The Girl From Ipanema
03. Hello, Dolly!
04. I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face
05. Up Cherry Street
06. Mexican Shuffle
07. El Presidente
08. All My Loving
09. Angelito
10. Salúd, Amor y Dinero
11. Numero Cinco
12. Adiós, Mi Corazón

Lost Treasures (2005)

01. Up Cherry Street
02. Lazy Day
03. Wailing Of The Willow

04. Fire And Rain
05. And I Love Her
06. I Can’t Go On Living, Baby, Without You
07. (They Long To Be) Close To You
08. Promises Promises
09. Happy Hour
10. Julius And Me
11. I Might Frighten Her Away
12. Alone Again (Naturally)
13. Tennessee Waltz
14. Tradewinds
15. Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head
16. Flowers On The Wall
17. Popcorn
18. Chris
19. Killing Me Softly
20. I’ll Never Fall In Love Again

The Lonely Bull (1962)

01. The Lonely Bull (El Solo Toro)
02. El Lobo (The Wolf)
03. Tijuana Sauerkraut
04. Desafinado
05. Mexico
06. Never On Sunday
07. Struttin’ With Maria
08. Let It Be Me
09. Acapulco 1922
10. Limbo Rock
11. Crawfish
12. A Quiet Tear (Lagrima Quieta)

Powered by

About MuzikMan

  • Bill Wolff

    Do you have Mr. Alpert’s email address, or that of a publicist? I need a signed photo for my music studio as we are teaching and playing in a very similar style.
    Thanks, Bill Wolff

  • Eric Olsen

    I would try the label, Shout Factory

  • R.Brown

    I like many people are patiently waitng for the re-release of Blow Your Horn, Fandango & Magic Man. Please, please bring them back because they are truly worth it. It is totally absurd that the few copies left are being sold from $50 to $250 on the internet.