Home / Editor Picks / Editor Pick: Gaming / Game Preview: ‘LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Trailers and Demo Released

Game Preview: ‘LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ Trailers and Demo Released

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

The Star Wars Universe is no stranger to the LEGO gaming treatment – games have been released for each of the 6 original movies, with varying degrees of success. Now, a new piece of the universe is joining the LEGO Star Wars family.


Sony treated us all to the trailer for LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens at E3 this year, showing some of the most memorable scenes from the movie like Rey in the cockpit of the Millennium Falcon, or the final fight between Rey and Kylo in the snow on Starkiller Base. Is this shaping up to be another win for the LEGO gaming universe?

Introducing: The Characters!

Like the previous LEGO Star Wars games, this new incarnation allows you to play as many of your favorite characters, and in the last few days since the big E3 reveal, they’ve also released a few fun vignettes showcasing some of the playable characters.

Let’s introduce them!

First, meet Poe Dameron, best pilot in the galaxy (currently, at least) who tears across the landscape in his custom painted black X-Wing fighter. This new version of the game will allow you to pilot that iconic fighter through familiar land and star-scapes as you struggle to defeat the First Order and destroy Starkiller Base.

Next, meet BB-8, the delightful little spherical droid who won our hearts as soon as he appeared on screen. Don’t expect him to be a helpless sidekick though! BB-8 can hold his own against anyone the First Order throws at him, even if he does occasionally need a little help to get away from junk collectors on Jakku.

Finally, meet the antagonist of this new chapter of the story – Kylo Ren. A half-trained Sith lord with a short temper and unique lightsaber, Kylo is as powerful as he is childish but he’s still no one to trifle with.

New Features Galore

What’s new in the LEGO Star Wars universe this time?

  • Hidden levels, including a new storyline that takes place between Return of the Jedi and The Force Awakens.
  • Advanced A.I. Enemies are more versatile and can use LEGO bricks in ways similar to the player, assisting their fellows and making the game that much more challenging.
  • Choose how you play! Solve the puzzles, blast your way though, or just follow the story – there’s a ton of different ways to play.
  • Dogfights and blaster battles! Tear your way through the First Order’s forces in Poe’s X-wing or drive them back in vicious blaster battles.

These new toys, along with the classic features that make the LEGO Star Wars universe so unique, mean that this new game really shaping up to be a great new way to explore this immersive universe.


Who Gets to Play?

Unlike a lot of new games, which are often restricted to a single console or device, everyone can join in the fun with LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens. According to LEGO’s website, the game will be available on the following devices:

  • Playstation 3
  • Playstation 4
  • Playstation Vita (Handheld Console)
  • Xbox One
  • Xbox 360
  • Wii U
  • Nintendo 3DS (Handheld Console)
  • PC

For once, it doesn’t matter how you play your games – everyone can join in the fun! The demo is currently only available on Xbox one, but that won’t matter when the game releases on June 28th.


If you just can’t wait until the game releases next week, maybe this silly piece about what Star Wars characters would drive will tide you over.

Keep your blasters primed, your lightsabers charged, and as always, May the Force Be With You!

Powered by

About Adrienne Erin

Adrienne is a freelance writer who covers health and personal development. She also speaks French and enjoys graphic design. You can see more of her work on her blog, Design Roast.