Home / Music / Electronica Group Chill Factor-5 Returns With The Venus Effect

Electronica Group Chill Factor-5 Returns With The Venus Effect

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

The Venus Effect is the name of the new record by electronica/ambient group, Chill Factor-5. The project is the brainchild of Maurice Oliver, a Harlem-born producer who has expertly blended elements of electronica, jazz, funk, fusion, and world beats into an Afro-centric mix of chilled downtempo. Chill Factor-5’s previous album, Sun Flower Jazz was even nominated for a Grammy® in the Electronic/Dance category. The new record promises to take the experimental ambition and musicianship to the next level, offering a feast of ambient tracks to chill out with.

The title track is a long, smooth journey through quasi-ambient melodies with light Afro-rhythmic percussion nicely balancing the synth drone. The rest of the record pulls together the disparate musical influences that Oliver picked up during his residency in Amsterdam and other travels. It’s a pastiche of styles and eras strung across a genre that begs for innovation. Chill Factor-5 delivers on much of that promise, and it’s not too out of left field to say that Chill Factor may garner another Grammy® award in 2009.

Maurice Oliver honed his musical talent at The Julliard School of Music In Manhattan. He studied orchestral percussion, majoring in tympani. He also worked with pioneers in the electronic music field. His commitment to collaboration is illustrated by the additional talent on The Venus Effect. Oliver is joined on this album by multi-instrumentalist Vinnie Zummo and vocalist Janice Zummo. The Zummos credits include work for TV shows, commercial, radio spots, and other artists including Paul Carrack and Roger Daltry.

Maurice Oliver continues to be a dominant force in electronic music.

Here is the record’s track list:

1. Ocean of Love-Sea of Compassion

2. The Venus Effect

3. Six in the Twilight

4. Full Moon

5. Central Station [A broken beat ballet]

6. Capoiera Song

7. Shake it up!

8. Down and all so dirty

9. Welcome to Paradise

10. Tulum

Powered by

About Scott Deitche

  • I first found Chill Factor-5 on CNET’s download.com while looking for new music to feature on my internet radio station. The two tracks he had available for download impressed me so I contacted him, received a promo and eventually broadcast 8 of the 10 tracks from his first release, A Heartbeat Away. In retrospect, when I contacted him for the first promo, he said, This album is going to blow you away. I wasn’t disappointed then and I haven’t with the next three releases. If you enjoy a little Afro-funk, Afro-jazz mixed with electronic programming and live instrumentation and enjoy dancing on your feet or in your seat, The Venus Effect is a good choice- as are the other releases. A good mix of ambient chill to uptempo Afro-jazz, The Venus Effect is a winner in my book!