Home / DVD/CD Review: Thingamakid’s Toddler Toons

DVD/CD Review: Thingamakid’s Toddler Toons

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

ThingamaKid Toons' series for kids aged two to five kicks off with Toddler Toons, Action Bible, and Christmas Toons, all of which come packaged with a DVD and CD. The DVD contains animated "toons" singing children's songs and provides a karaoke version of all the songs to help the kids sing along. The DVD also has three educational shorts and a Spanish option so kids can learn songs in another language.

The Toddler Toons shorts cover shapes, colors, and counting to ten. They last up to 30 seconds, so they don't lose the toddler's attention. The DVD plays great on a TV/DVD player, but doesn't auto-run when using it in a computer (not all parents know how to get a DVD going or have the right software to run it). The DVD run time is about 25 minutes. Included songs:

  • Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes
  • The Butterfly Song
  • The Wheels on the Bus
  • Mary Had A Little Lamb
  • Pop! Goes The Weasel!
  • This Old Man
  • The Bear Went Over the Mountain
  • Eensy, Weensy Spider
  • Old MacDonald
  • Alphabet Animals (the A-B-C Song)

The CD comes with tunes for listening on the go or at home. It holds the same songs as those on the DVD, plus five extras including "The Muffin Man," "Roll Over," and "Baa, Baa Black Sheep." The CD also provides split track versions of the songs.

Our family toddler, a three-year-old, watched the DVD and asked for replays until told it was time to stop watching TV. He got up and danced and sang along when he knew the songs. It's sure to please toddlers who like music, singing, and dancing. Parents can help sing along as most of the songs are classic with a couple of unknowns for them to learn.

The box comes with song lyrics and the karaoke version displays lyrics as they're sung. More ThingamaKid titles are planned for 2007. Each set sells for $9.99, a great price considering they come with a CD and DVD plus karaoke and split track versions.

Powered by

About Meryl K Evans

Meryl K. Evans, Content Maven, is the author of "Brilliant Outlook Pocketbook" and the co-author of "Adapting to Web Standards: CSS and Ajax for Big Sites." She has written and edited for a bunch of places online and off. A native Texan, she lives a heartbeat north of Dallas in Plano, Texas with her husband and three kiddos.