Home / Dream Theater Live At Budokan

Dream Theater Live At Budokan

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Artist: Dream Theater
Title: Live At Budokan (2 DVD Set , 3 CD Set)
Genre: Progressive Rock
Label: Rhino Records

If you stop and think about how many great bands have played at Budokan and recorded a live album there, it is quite an impressive list. Everyone from Dylan to Cheap Trick has done it. Now it is time for the world’s #1 prog-rock outfit to flex their muscles at the legendary venue. Dream Theater has released Live At Budokan, an awesome three CD set along with an accompanying two DVD set for the faithful to enjoy. Count me amongst the faithful; I have been since the early 90’s when they turned around the floundering prog-rock scene with their dynamic album Images and Words.

Dream Theater has a way of combining metal, progressive, rock and fusion elements unlike any other band recording today. Their worldwide popularity speaks volumes and their eclectic brand of musical foreplay is what fuels the fire.

Each musician in this band is a star in his own right. Mike Portnoy (drums), Jordan Rudess (keyboards), John Myung (bass), John Petrucci (guitar) and James LaBrie (vocals) are well known for their work in the band framework of Dream Theater, however their solo endeavors have also received a lot of attention and their frequent guest appearances have brought considerably more interest to each individual member of the band.

A Dream Theater set is three hours long, hence the three CDs to capture one of their shows. The sound is superb and their playing does not get any better. The atmosphere and energy at Budokan is marvelously magical. The band takes full advantage of the setting and works the crowd into one huge mass of expressive energy.

The DVD is a wonderful treat as well, giving fans that have not had the pleasure of seeing them live an opportunity to experience DT on stage. The bonus DVD takes you into the dressing room and onto the stage at a sound check with the band. It is an up close and personal look at a humble and professional group of men. I really appreciate their candor and can see how much time and effort they put into each show they perform. The outcome of the CD and DVD tells the story.

This is a career-defining release that will leave an indelible imprint upon the history of progressive rock music. This is a must have for all DT and prog-rock enthusiast.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck

October 13, 2004



01. As I am
02. This Dying Soul
03. Beyond This Life
04. Hollow Years
05. War Inside My Head
06. The Test that Stumped Them All
07. Endless Sacrifice
08. Instrumedly
09. Trial of Tears
10. New Millennium
11. Keyboard Solo
12. Only a Matter of Time

13. Goodnight Kiss
14. Solitary Shell
15. Stream of Conciousness
16. Disappear
17. Pull Me Under
18. In the Name of God



1. As I Am (7:25)
2. This Dying Soul (11:44)
3. Beyond This Life (19:37)
4. Hollow Years (9:18)
5. War Inside My Head (2:22)
6. The Test That Stumped Them All (5:00)


1. Endless Sacrifice (11:16)
2. Instrumedley (12:15)
3. Trial Of Tears (13:49)
4. New Millennium (8:01)
5. Keyboard Solo (3:58)
6. Only A Matter Of Time (7:21)


1. Goodnight Kiss (6:16)
2. Solitary Shell (5:58)
3. Stream Of Consciousness (10:54)
4. Disappear (5:56)
5. Pull Me Under (8:38)
6. In The Name Of God (15:49)

Powered by

About MuzikMan