Home / canary islands

canary islands

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

The Canary Islands are one of the Spanish Autonomous Communities and the outermost region of the European Union. Located 100km off the coast of Africa, the Canary Islands are comprised of 10 islands: Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera, El Hierro, La Graciosa, Alegranza, and Montana Clara.

The Canary Islands were formed after an underwater volcano erupted. The mouth of this Volcano, known as the Peak of Teide, can still be seen in Tenerife and remains active to this day, although its last recorded eruption was in 1909.

The Canary Island’s current population sits at over 2,000,000. Tenerife is the most populous island, with over one million inhabitants. Many people choose to take Canary Islands holidays because of the combination of its sub-tropical climate, natural attractinos, and picturesque beaches.

You’ll find bloggers discussing the canary Islands at sites like Femi Jaye’s Canary Islands Blog and the Tenerife Scuba blog.

Powered by

About techlink500