Home / Bruce Springsteen’s New Single “Working On A Dream” Released as Free Download For One Day Only

Bruce Springsteen’s New Single “Working On A Dream” Released as Free Download For One Day Only

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Bruce Springsteen's new album may be two months away but Christmas has come early! For one day only – November 24 – you can download the title track from the album Working On A Dream for free from the iTunes Music Store and on Springsteen's own web site. After today, the song will be available exclusively through iTunes until December 9 as a paid download.

I was getting a little surly when it looked like there would be nothing from Bruce Springsteen under my Christmas tree this year. There were rumors of a 30th anniversary re-issue of Darkness On The Edge of Town and a live CD/DVD of the Magic world tour. As weeks went by, these seemed less and less likely. Then we got news of the new album which is great, but we won't get it until January '09. With this, we get something in 2008 and we get it free! There's nothing wrong with that (although I still want those Darkness and Magic sets!).

In news related to the album, there seems to be some discrepancy about whether there will be two bonus tracks appended to the album or only one. The initial press release announcing the new album indicated both "The Wrestler" and "A Night With The Jersey Devil" would be added as bonuses to the 12-song Working On A Dream. A revised press release found online lists only "The Wrestler." Amazon still lists both, so we'll have to wait and see.

Additionally, Working On A Dream will be released as a single CD and also in a deluxe edition. The deluxe edition will include a DVD with 30 minutes of footage from the Magic world tour. Details are still sketchy, but it has been suggested by at least one longtime Springsteen observer that this might be the footage released earlier this year as part of a charity EP. Again, nothing is confirmed other than Amazon is allowing fans to pre-order a deluxe edition.

While the details are being worked and as we wait for the dust to settle, get thee to iTunes and get your free download!

Working on a Dream Track List

1. Outlaw Pete
2. My Lucky Day
3. Working on a Dream
4. Queen of the Supermarket

5. What Love Can Do
6. This Life
7. Good Eye
8. Tomorrow Never Knows
9. Life Itself
10. Kingdom of Days
11. Surprise, Surprise
12. The Last Carnival

Bonus tracks:
The Wrestler
***A Night with the Jersey Devil

Powered by

About Josh Hathaway

  • The Magic Tour Highlights EP adds up to just under 25 minutes, so that may indeed be what makes up this extra DVD (with a few minutes added for introductions of guests, etc.). I don’t see a trek as long and varied as the Magic tour gets condensed, otherwise, though.

  • Tough to say. With Bruce, everything seems subject to change at any given moment. I think you’re right, but we could see the E Street Band soldier on in support of WOAD without Max, or we could see the tour end in June. I have no real feel for it right now.

  • It looks more and more like “The Wrestler” is going to be the lone bonus track on the release. Disappointing.