Home / Music / Bruce Springsteen And The E Street Band To Release Live London Calling DVD On June 22

Bruce Springsteen And The E Street Band To Release Live London Calling DVD On June 22

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest2Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Bruce Springsteen And The E Street Band will release their third official live concert DVD (following 2001's Live In New York City and 2003's Live In Barcelona) on June 22, according to a report published today by Backstreets Magazine.

London Calling: Live In Hyde Park was recorded last year at London's Hard Rock Calling festival during their 2009 Working On A Dream tour. Portions of the concert have previously been seen on a television broadcast by the Fuse Network. This DVD will feature the complete performance for the first time, with the lone exception of "Rosalita," which has been dropped from the DVD (although it was shown during the Fuse broadcast).

The DVD however does include a standout version of "Jungleland" seen on that show, as well as the rest of the set including raucous cover versions of The Rascals' "Good Lovin'," Eddie Floyd's "Raise Your Hand," and the Clash's "London Calling" (which opens the show).

London Calling: Live In Hyde Park was overseen by Springsteen's usual team of producer/editor Thom Zimmy and director Chris Hilson, with audio mixing by Bob Clearmountain. It will be available in both single-disc Blu-ray and double-disc DVD versions. The set will also include two bonus performances: "Wrecking Ball" from Giants Stadium, and "The River" from England's Glastonbury Festival.

While this is the third officially released live concert DVD from Springsteen and the E Street Band, the Born To Run 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition also features a 1975 performance from London's Hammersmith Odeon. Springsteen has also previously released live DVDs of a VH1 Storytellers performance as well as the 2007 Live In Dublin set with the Seeger Sessions Band.

Bruce Springsteen is widely expected to release a deluxe remastered boxed set edition of his 1978 album Darkness On The Edge Of Town later this year.

Here is the full track list for London Calling: Live in Hyde Park, courtesy of Backstreets Magazine:

1. London Calling
2. Badlands
3. Night
4. She's the One
5. Outlaw Pete
6. Out in the Street
7. Working on a Dream
8. Seeds
9. Johnny 99
10. Youngstown
11. Good Lovin'
12. Bobby Jean
13. Trapped
14. No Surrender
15. Waiting on a Sunny Day
16. Promised Land
17. Racing in the Street
18. Radio Nowhere
19. Lonesome Day
20. The Rising
21. Born to Run
22. Hard Times (Come Again No More)
23. Jungleland
24. American Land
25. Glory Days
26. Dancing in the Dark
27. Music under end credit sequence: Raise Your Hand

Bonus Tracks:
The River: Glastonbury Festival, 6/27/09
Wrecking Ball: Giants Stadium, 2009

Powered by

About Glen Boyd

Glen Boyd is the author of Neil Young FAQ, released in May 2012 by Backbeat Books/Hal Leonard Publishing. He is a former BC Music Editor and current contributor, whose work has also appeared in SPIN, Ultimate Classic Rock, The Rocket, The Source and other publications. You can read more of Glen's work at the official Neil Young FAQ site. Follow Glen on Twitter and on Facebook.
  • Kial Hounslow

    I was at this show, and it was fantastic, not his best, but as he himself when he slipped over “I am nearly f%@£ing 60!”. I wonder if that’ll make it into the DVD…

  • Mark, thats what I meant when I said “Landau’s (and ultimately Bruce’s).” I’m quite sure that when push comes to shove, no one gets power over the “Boss.”


  • i would buy all sorts of live shows if they were made available. maybe not actual soundboard recordings…not particularly fond of them.

  • i’ve seen that landau quote but think that people are too quick to blame him. yes, he did say that but i sort of doubt he gets veto power over Bruce.

    now why Bruce can’t see it as a good idea? don’t know.

  • eich

    who is the brain behind omitting songs from a complete concert? what an unbelievable bull§$”%

  • WildBilly

    Of the River show, that is.

  • WildBilly

    There is a excellent DVD-bootleg with great IEM sound on Jungleland.

  • Excellent point. I know that I would certainly pay for soundboard quality recordings of the River and Darkness shows from MSG (to say nothing about pro-shot video), as would lots of other hardcore fans. What I suspect it has to do with is more Landau’s (and ultimately Bruce’s) need for control than anything else.

    Landau’s been quoted as saying something to the effect of “we don’t release every show, that’s not how we do things.”

    In the meantime, I guess we have our bootlegs though, right?


  • they seem to be tone deaf to that sort of thing. weird.

  • Mat Brewster

    It blows my mind that guys like Bruce with such big fan bases who pour over setlists and grab every bit of live stuff they can find don’t release full shows more often. Bruce could produce soundboard recordings with minimal packaging and sell them from his website for cheap and still make a killing.

  • He should be releasing live shows featuring the complete album performances from last tour, at least soundboard bootlegs like Pearl Jam et al.

  • Music Man

    Sounds like a great DVD Concert. I missed Bruce last he visited close to us. I have to get this DVD.

  • exploding heads at btx? shocking!!

    yes, let the complaining and whining begin!!

  • Heads are exploding over on BTX….but that was to be expected.


  • I was hoping to see the Darkness set sooner as well. But in the meantime, this will more than satisfy my Bruce fix for awhile. Still kinda bummed they didn’t go with the River from MSG…or at least a bonus “price You Pay”. Other than that minor quibble though, this is a great setlist.

    Counting down the days…


  • i received that outskirts dispatch this morning and thought “Darkness…Darkness….Darkness”.

    apparently, my thoughts have no clout.

    still, this is great and i’m lookin’ forward to it.