Today on Blogcritics
Home » Books » Book Reviews » Book Review: The Silver Serpent by David Debord

Book Review: The Silver Serpent by David Debord

Please Share...Tweet about this on Twitter0Share on Facebook0Share on Google+0Share on LinkedIn0Pin on Pinterest0Share on TumblrShare on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

In a world where magic is dying and nations teeter on the verge of war, three young people are preoccupied with their own concerns. Shanis is a tomboy who wants to be a soldier. Hierm is an unappreciated second son who wants to escape his father's expectations. Bookish Oskar wants to see the places he's heard of in stories and read about in books. They all believe their dreams have come true, but they soon learn that a greater evil lurks beyond the mountains, and they find themselves on a quest for the Silver Serpent – a mysterious talisman that can save their land.

There is plenty to like in David Debord's The Silver Serpent: plot twists abound, the lands and cultures are intriguing, and Debord adds a layer of mystery to the story. The characters are searching for the Silver Serpent, but they don't know what it is or what it does – much less where to find it. The sai-kurs, an order of sorcerers/ambassadors, operate with their own agenda that is not revealed in this, the first volume of the series The Absent Gods.

The plot focuses on two competing factions who are on identical quests, yet completely unaware of one another. The best part of this story, though, concerns the characters. No character is totally good or bad. Indeed, the ones who annoy you at first tend to grow on you, and the ones who seem great at the outset have their own warts. All of the main characters evolve and change over the course of the book. The most memorable is Prince Lerryn, a truly complex "flawed hero."

Debord offers hints of an expansive world replete with a variety of unique cultures and political motivations, but we are introduced to only a small corner. Magic exists, but plays a minimal role, as we are told that magic has been dwindling for some time. Many colorful secondary characters are introduced, but the reader gets the feeling that this first book in the series only scratches the surface of what promises to be an ever-sprawling series. Debord has cited Robert Jordan as his biggest influence, which makes one wonder if he will spin his web as wide as Jordan did, as the groundwork appears to have been lain for an epic of great breadth if he chooses to go in that direction.

The negative for many will be the fact that this story is a "quest" story like so many that have come before. The characters begin in the small, rural village and embark upon a journey to find the talisman that will save the world. Of course, the story is unique, but if you don't like the traditional quest story, you'll have a hard time enjoying this book.

The Silver Serpent is a gripping epic fantasy in the tradition of Robert Jordan, Raymond Feist and David Eddings. If you are looking for a fresh, new voice in the traditional form, I highly recommend this first installment of what promises to be a memorable series.

About Asgard