Home / Beastie Boys to Release Solid Gold Hits

Beastie Boys to Release Solid Gold Hits

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

You know you love the Beastie Boys. To celebrate the groups 24th anniversary, Capitol will be releasing a greatest hits album, Solid Gold Hits.

Scheduled to hit the streets on November 8th, the album will feature fifteen of the group’s songs, including old favorites like “No Sleep ‘Til Brooklyn”, “Root Down”, “Shake Your Rump” and “Fight For Your Right” and newer songs from To The 5 Boroughs, “Ch-Ch-Check it Out” and “An Open Letter to NYC”.

Complete track listing:
1. So What’cha Want
2. Brass Monkey
3. Ch-Check It Out
4. No Sleep ‘Til Brooklyn
5. Hey Ladies
6. Pass The Mic

7. An Open Letter To NYC
8. Root Down
9. Shake Your Rump
10. Intergalactic
11. Sure Shot
12. Body Movin’ (Fatboy Slim Remix)
13. Triple Trouble
14. Sabotage
15. Fight For Your Right

You can read Jones Violet’s stuff at Stolen Pony

Powered by

About Jennifer Best

  • You know a band is past their prime and done creatively when they release a Greatest Hits album.

    I’ve always thought the Beasties were overrated, although their early stuff was good, but I might get this.

    That is all.

  • This is a stellar collection. I’m a little bit surprised by only one inclusion, “Triple Trouble.” It’s likely that they wanted to represent heavily from their latest album. However, I’d say there are about 40 songs that could have easily made the cut.

    Very nice on the Fatboy Slim remix of “Body Moving,” which really takes a ho hum number and launches it into B-Boy intergalactic orbit.

  • Borat

    Well, it is a hits package, not a best of release. The only hit left out was “Get It Together” from ’94. It looks pretty faithful to their charted songs.

  • More often it’s a contractual obligation, often fullfilled when the artist changes label.

  • Thanks B and Greg — of course you’re right. Thus the 1.5 million packages from a-z band that has made noise / sold some records ever.

    I remember growing up, being completely agitated about whether or not I had the best or most complete collection by a certain band. Op Ivy’s Energy, for example, is a lifesaver is it covers everything the band did pretty well in one package.

    Nowadays I’m content to generally not know what the hell is going on!

  • b-grrrlie

    The decision to release this record was totally the record company’s. The Beasties didn’t even wanna do this, but the record company wouldn’t let them release the DVD of MSG gig if they didn’t do this first.
    So this is just the record company milking. The good thing is you get the videos to every song as well (not on the vinyl version of course).