Home / Culture and Society / BC Sports: SEC 2011 Season Awards

BC Sports: SEC 2011 Season Awards

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

There are many who will argue the Southeastern Conference is not the best conference top to bottom as some other conference (say the remnants of the Big XII). But when the upcoming 2011-2012 national championship game features two teams from the conference (LSU and Alabama), it’s hard to argue how dominant the league is across the board. When you have top teams, you have top coaches and players, and it is time to recognize our nominees and winners for the third annual BC Sports SEC Awards.

For more detailed statistics on this season’s SEC teams, click HERE.

Coach of the Year:

Les Miles – LSU
2011 Record: 13-0

Nick Saban – Alabama
2011 Record: 11-1

Mark Richt – Georgia
2011 Record: 10-3

James Franklin – Vanderbilt
2011 Record: 6-6

Winner: James Franklin – Vanderbilt

You are scratching your head right now. A guy with a 6-6 record? Really? Yes, really. Richt, Miles and Saban have better records but they also play with way more talent. Franklin got a lot out of less and has instilled a new attitude at Vanderbilt. Through ups and downs, changes, and with their backs against the wall often, Franklin’s Commodores shined and earned a much-deserved bowl berth.

Offensive Player of the Year:

Tyler Wilson, QB – Arkansas
3422 yds., 22 TD, 6 INT

Trent Richardson, RB – Alabama
1583 rush yds., 327 rec. yds, 23 total TDs

Aaron Murray, QB – Georgia

Jordan Rodgers, QB – Vanderbilt

Winner: Trent Richardson, RB – Alabama

Richardson’s status as a game breaker was solidified again and again this season. He was really the only thing that worked against LSU in the first game and he will be a big part of what Alabama wants to do in the BCS National Championship Game next month.

Defensive Player of the Year:

Jarvis Jones, LB – Georgia

Courtney Upshaw, LB – Alabama

Melvin Ingram, DL – South Carolina

Morris Claiborne, DB – LSU

Winner: Morris Claiborne, DB – LSU

There are a lot of talented defenders on LSU’s team, but one of the most consistent is Claiborne. He has a nose for the ball, makes solid tackles, and is a legitimate shutdown cornerback. He’s also a special teams threat.

Special Teams Player of the Year:

Cody Parkey, PK – Auburn

Tyrann Mathieu, PR – LSU

Joe Adams, PR – Arkansas

Drew Butler, P – Georgia

Winner: Tyrann Mathieu, PR – LSU

LSU’s explosiveness doesn’t come on offense. It comes when teams foolishly kick the ball to this guy who can flip the field (and momentum) in a hurry.

Freshman of the Year:

Isaiah Crowell, RB – Georgia

Jadeveon Clowney, DL – South Carolina

Kenny Hilliard, RB – LSU

Cody Parkey, PK – Auburn

Winner: Cody Parkey, PK – Auburn

Parkey routinely kicked balls through the back of the end zone, forcing teams to drive the length of the field all season. On a team with a better defense, he’d have been an All-American. Once he gets some control on the FGs, he’ll be even more of a threat.

So, there you have it. Agree or disagree? Feel free to say so in the comments section.

Powered by

About J. Newcastle