Home / Culture and Society / BC Sports: SEC 2010 Season Awards

BC Sports: SEC 2010 Season Awards

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

The Southeastern Conference produced 10 bowl teams this year and a ton of college football’s elite talent. In a league where recruiting is followed as closely as the games, opportunities for individual accomplishments for players are plentiful. Here are the nominees and winners for the BC Sports SEC Awards.

Coach of the Year
Dan Mullen – Mississippi State
2010 record: 8-4
Signature win in 2010: A 10-7 victory at Florida.

Gene Chizik – Auburn
2010 record: 13-0
Signature win: A 28-27 come from 24 points behind win at Alabama.

Steve Spurrier – South Carolina
2010 record: 9-4
Signature win: Beating then #1 Alabama 35-21.

Derek Dooley – Tennessee
2010 record: 6-6
Biggest win: A bowl-eligibility clinching 24-14 win over Kentucky.

Awarded to: Steve Spurrier – South Carolina
In a year where the SEC East was really in flux, Spurrier’s Gamecocks survived a few hiccups to win the division and set themselves up for a bright near future. Much of the talent that drove the team will be back next year, leading many to think Spurrier may go out with a bang in Columbia before it’s all said and done.

Offensive Player of the Year
Randall Cobb – WR/QB/KR/PR Kentucky
Receiving: 79 rec., 955 yds., 7 TDs; Rushing: 52 rush., 401 yds, 5 TDs; Return: 836 yds. 1 TD
Signature performance: 7 rec. 68 yds. 1 TD; 11 rush. 47 yds., 2 TDs vs. Auburn

Alshon Jeffrey – WR South Carolina
Receiving: 79 rec., 1,387 yds., 9 TDs
Signature performance: 7 rec., 121 yds., 2 TDs vs. Alabama

Julio Jones – WR Alabama
Receiving: 75 rec., 1,084 yds., 7 TDs; Rushing: 6 att., 99 yds., 1 TD; Return: 173 yds.
Signature performance: 12 rec., 221 yds. vs. Tennessee

Cameron Newton – QB Auburn
Passing: 165 of 246, 2,589 yds., 28 TDs 6 INTs; Rushing: 242 att., 1,409 yds., 20 TDs; Receiving: 2 rec., 42 yds., 1 TD
Signature performance: 17 of 28, 335 yds., 3 TDs; 14 rushes for 73 yds. 1 TD vs. South Carolina in the SEC Championship Game

Awarded to: Cameron Newton – QB, Auburn
In a year where offense ruled the league, Newton stood out from the crowd with his running ability early. However, as the season progressed and teams keyed to stop his movement, Newton proved he had a big arm and laser accuracy, loading up the scoreboard with plenty of points and propelling Auburn (almost single-handedly) into the BCS Championship Game.

Defensive Player of the Year
Janoris Jenkins – Florida
Tackles: 43 total, 33 solo, 1 sack; INT: 3 (1 TD)
Signature performance: 5 solo tackles, 1 INT return for TD vs. Miami (OH)

Justin Houston – Georgia
Tackles: 56 total, 30 solo, 10 sacks; INT: 1
Signature performance: 9 total tackles, 2 sacks vs. South Carolina

Marcel Dareus – Alabama
Tackles: 31 total, 18 solo, 9 for loss, 3.5 sacks
Signature performance: 8 tackles, 1 sack, 4 tackles for loss vs. South Carolina

Patrick Peterson – LSU
Tackles: 36 total, 24 solo, 4 INTs
Signature performance: 5 tackles, 157 return yds. vs. North Carolina

Awarded to: Patrick Peterson – DB, LSU
Peterson’s presence on the field cut options in half for nearly every team LSU played this season. Not only is a he a lock-down corner and dangerous returner, but Peterson plays with a high-gear motor and is often in on gang tackle efforts. When LSU needed stops, Peterson consistently delivered.

Special Teams Player of the Year
Chas Henry – P, Florida
44 punts, 2042 yds., long of 75
Signature performance: 75-yard punt vs. Alabama

Blair Walsh – PK, Georgia
46 of 47 PATs, 1 of 21 FGs
Signature performance: 6 for 6 PATs vs. Georgia Tech

Zach Hocker – PK, Arkansas
55 of 55 PATs, 13 of 16 FGs
Signature performance: 2 of 2 FGs (long 51) and 5 of 5 PATs vs.
South Carolina

Patrick Peterson – Returner, LSU
29 kick returns, 851 yds.; 26 punt returns, 418 yds., 2 TDs
Signature performance: An 87-yard punt return for a TD vs. North Carolina.

Awarded to: Zach Hocker – Arkansas
As clutch a kicking performer as any kicker around the country, Hocker redefines what it means to be automatic after touchdowns with the extra point perfection. Also, he’s only a freshmen (one who hit a 51-yard FG) and has a ton of upside for the future at Arkansas.

Freshman Player of the Year
Aaron Murray – QB, Georgia
2010 Statistics – Passing: 188 of 344, 2,851 yds, 24 TDs, 6 INTs; Rushing: 75-263 yds., 4 TDs
Signature performance: 17-25, 266 yds., 2 TDs vs. Tennessee

Marcus Lattimore – RB, South Carolina
2010 Statistics – Rushing: 248 att., 1,198 yds., 17 TDs; Receiving: 26 rec., 364 yds, 2 TDs
Signature performance: 212 yds. rushing, 2 TDs vs. Florida

C.J. Mosley – LB, Alabama
Tackles: 66 total, 30 solo, .5 sack, 2 INTs, 10 passes defended
Signature performance: 12 tackles vs. Mississippi State

Zach Hocker – PK, Arkansas
55 of 55 PATs, 13 of 16 FGs
Signature performance: 2 of 2 FGs (long 51) and 5 of 5 PATs vs.
South Carolina

Awarded to: C.J. Mosley – LB, Alabama
It is hard to overlook the magnitude of Mosley’s play in a young, rebuilding Alabama defense. He routinely swarmed to the ball, made big hits when it counted, and played well against the pass. There’s a lot of upside for this guy as he continues to be groomed in Nick Saban’s defense.

Powered by

About J. Newcastle


    I can’t believe you gave in to the pressure and gave an award to $cam Newton!

    F him and you! He will be stricken from the record books and the Barn will be growing corn in that hole of a stadium.


  • WDE

    How in the world can you leave Nick Fairley off of the NOMINATIONS LIST? Much less not give him the defensive award! And you still show your bias for all things ‘Bama. You are the worst Newcastle!