Today on Blogcritics
Home » Author Archives: Mayra Calvani (page 2)

Author Archives: Mayra Calvani

Mayra Calvani writes fiction and nonfiction for children and adults and has authored over a dozen books, some of which have won awards. Her stories, reviews, interviews and articles have appeared on numerous publications such as The Writer, Writer’s Journal, Multicultural Review, and Bloomsbury Review, among many others. Represented by Serendipity Literary.

Interview with Arnaldo Lopez, Jr., Author of ‘Chickenhawk’

"I define success as the acceptance and appreciation of my work by my readers and peers."

I’m a stickler for keeping things as authentic as possible, so I often drove to the locations that I mention or describe in my novel to make sure that I described them properly. Read More »

Interview: Michael Ditchfield, Author of ‘Life’s Too Short for Leftovers – 9 Lessons from a Third World Kitchen’

michael_106 (2)

"I try to challenge the reader to look beyond the boundaries of their limitations to enhance peace and reconciliation in another world." Read More »

Interview with Christopher Nuttall, Author of ‘Trial By Fire’

Trial by Fire is book 7 in the Schooled by Magic series, more than a 100K copies sold.

Christopher Nuttall is the author of 20 novels from various publishers and thirty-nine self-published novels. Read More »

Book Review: ‘Madison’s Song’ by Christine Amsden

A stand-alone companion book to the Cassie Scot series.

Madison's Song is highly recommended for its non-stop action and skilful characterization. Read More »

Profile: Christine Amsden, Author of the Cassie Scot Series


Meet the creator of the paranormal detective Cassie Scot. Read More »

Interview with Gabriel Valjan, Author of ‘Turning to Stone’

author pic

Blogcritics chats with Gabriel Valjan, author of the Roma Series novels. Read More »

Interview with R.M. Cartmel, Author of ‘The Charlemagne Connection’


Well, if Lady Muse isn’t playing, I go back and rewrite it! Don’t worry, gentle readers, you will never be exposed to it, but there are times when my muse is, and it is still a horrid and self-indulgent monstrosity! Read More »

Profile: Author Barry Hornig

Without a Net Cover

The decision to write this memoir came about from Hornig’s anger about his great ups and downs in life and the question, “Why do they continue to happen to me?” He needed to get it out of his system. Through writing, he hoped to see life more clearly and get rid of some of the anger and pain. Read More »

Book Review: ‘Turning to Stone’ (Roma Series Book Four) by Gabriel Valjan


The latest entry in Valjan's Roma series proves the most complex and skilfully plotted to date. Read More »

Book Review: The Accidental Art Thief by Joan Schweighardt

Fans of Alice Hoffman, Sue Monk Kid, and J.K. Rowling (The Casual Vacancy) will surely enjoy Schweighardt’s The Accidental Thief.

"The Accidental Art Thief" is a well-written literary novel with complex, skillfully developed characters. Read More »