<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<rss version="2.0">
<channel>
<title>Blogcritics Comments on You&#039;ve got Spamis</title>
<link>http://blogcritics.org/</link>
<description>A sinister cabal of superior bloggers on music, books, film, popular culture, politics, and technology - updated continuously.</description>
<language>en</language>
<copyright>Copyright 2005-2007 by the authors</copyright>
<lastBuildDate>Sat, 19 Jan 2008 14:37:17 EST</lastBuildDate>
<docs>http://backend.userland.com/rss</docs>
<generator>Blogcritics.org custom software</generator>

<item>
<title>Comment by Ishmael back on You&#039;ve got Spamis</title>
<link>http://blogcritics.org/archives/2005/06/23/172028.php#comment-688985</link>
<description>http://groups.google.com/group/deep-good-throat/web/throatjobs-pics;Throatjobs Pics </description>
<guid isPermaLink="false">688985@blogcritics.org</guid>
<pubDate>Sat, 19 Jan 2008 14:37:17 EST</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Comment by Ishmael back on You&#039;ve got Spamis</title>
<link>http://blogcritics.org/archives/2005/06/23/172028.php#comment-688984</link>
<description>http://groups.google.com/group/deep-good-throat/web/throatjobs-pics;Throatjobs Pics </description>
<guid isPermaLink="false">688984@blogcritics.org</guid>
<pubDate>Sat, 19 Jan 2008 14:37:10 EST</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Comment by Ishmael back on You&#039;ve got Spamis</title>
<link>http://blogcritics.org/archives/2005/06/23/172028.php#comment-688983</link>
<description>http://groups.google.com/group/deep-good-throat/web/throatjobs-lannie;Throatjobs Lannie </description>
<guid isPermaLink="false">688983@blogcritics.org</guid>
<pubDate>Sat, 19 Jan 2008 14:37:06 EST</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Comment by Edward Miller on You&#039;ve got Spamis</title>
<link>http://blogcritics.org/archives/2005/06/23/172028.php#comment-585793</link>
<description>I have received hundreds of emails from the emailbroadcastingcompany and have tried to &quot;remove&quot; my name with no luck.  How do they get these thru &quot;we will email advertise your charity web site to 7,500,000 people. FREE TODAY&quot;

Any help on finding these people and prosecuting them thru the anti-spamming laws would be helpful!</description>
<guid isPermaLink="false">585793@blogcritics.org</guid>
<pubDate>Fri, 4 May 2007 15:30:53 EDT</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Comment by John Blossom on You&#039;ve got Spamis</title>
<link>http://blogcritics.org/archives/2005/06/23/172028.php#comment-569929</link>
<description>Thanks for these comments, this company has hijacked by personal email address and is using it as a spoof for its emails. 

It looks as if my thoughts about suing on the grounds of defamation of character would probably go nowhere. Very discouraging.</description>
<guid isPermaLink="false">569929@blogcritics.org</guid>
<pubDate>Mon, 2 Apr 2007 16:39:21 EDT</pubDate>
</item>
<item>
<title>Comment by JOHN TAYLOR on You&#039;ve got Spamis</title>
<link>http://blogcritics.org/archives/2005/06/23/172028.php#comment-546495</link>
<description>I&#039;ve received a new twist on this spam message... &quot;we email advertise your charity web site to 7,500,000 people. free.

www.permissionemailcorp.com&quot; FROM MY EMAIL ADDRESS, TO MY EMAIL ADDRESS. I also wonder who they are spaming with my own email address. What is the recourse for damages?

Interesting that I use GoDaddy for my domains and recenty changed my contact info to my personal email address that received this spam message twice, today (Feb 23 6:43 AM) and yesterday (Feb 24 at 7:04 am).

After a bit of research, this could very well be a scam originating from another country (China?).  Likely a clever attempt to get an order via American Express, MC, Visa or Discover, through a non-secured webpage (http vs. https).  Unsuspecting business owners might enter their credit card numbers, only to have them stolen.

There is a fax number provided,+1(206)260-3270, but that could be an IP phone (Vonage, etc.) sitting somewhere in China.  Microsoft targeted Robert Soloway in 2005 so it would be easy to direct upset recipients to that person while grabbing a few hundred (thousand?) credit cards before closing up shop.  That&#039;s my guess...

John
IndianaDigital.net
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Here&#039;s what I found with 10 minutes of searching...

Here&#039;s an update from SpamHaus that should shed some light on this:

(www) spamhaus.org/organization/statement.lasso?ref=3

Here&#039;s the company contact info for &quot;Broadcast Email Service&quot; when you follow the link in the spam email:

Corporation Headquarters
Located In The Heart of the Downtown Business District Located in Seattle, Washington, USA.

Corporate Address:
1001 4th Ave - #1259
Seattle, WA 98111
United States of America 

Additional Information:
Please Read Under Email Software, Email Services, Custom Emailings and Charity Info to Learn About All of Our Products &amp; Services. Thank You. 
------------------------------------------------------------------

Google the following [  1001 4th Ave - #1259 seattle  ] for insight to who shows up with this address.

------------------------------------------------------------------

One of the Google links takes you to http://robertalansoloway.com where you can click a link to view a PDF of a lawsuit from Microsoft against Robert Soloway, who is identified as the CEO of Broadcast Email Service.  In this lawsuit, Robert Soloway is identified as &quot;Newport Internet Marketing&quot; of CA.

However, even this is misleading.  A WhoIs lookup reports the Domain Holder as...

Domain Name: PERMISSIONEMAILCORP.COM
Registrar: BEIJING INNOVATIVE LINKAGE TECHNOLOGY LTD. DBA DNS.COM.CN
Whois Server: whois.dns.com.cn
Name Server: NS1.PERMISSIONEMAILCORP.COM
Name Server: NS2.PERMISSIONEMAILCORP.COM
Name Server: NS3.PERMISSIONEMAILCORP.COM
Name Server: NS4.PERMISSIONEMAILCORP.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 19-feb-2007
Creation Date: 17-nov-2006
Expiration Date: 17-nov-2007
Domain Name.......... permissionemailcorp.com
Creation Date........ 2006-11-17 21:43:02
Registration Date.... 2006-11-17 21:43:02
Expiry Date.......... 2007-11-17 21:43:02

...If you lookup who administers the domain, you get:

advertisingemailcorporation.com
-------------------------------
Domain Name: ADVERTISINGEMAILCORPORATION.COM
Registrar: BEIJING INNOVATIVE LINKAGE TECHNOLOGY LTD. DBA DNS.COM.CN
Name Server: NS1.KANJERIMADA.INFO
Name Server: NS2.KANJERIMADA.INFO
Name Server: NS3.KANJERIMADA.INFO
Name Server: NS4.KANJERIMADA.INFO
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 25-jan-2007
Creation Date: 17-nov-2006
Expiration Date: 17-nov-2007

I&#039;d like to hear what others come up with after a bit more digging.

John
IndianaDigital.net
</description>
<guid isPermaLink="false">546495@blogcritics.org</guid>
<pubDate>Sun, 25 Feb 2007 09:52:41 EST</pubDate>
</item>

</channel>
</rss>