Home / Film / 2011 Independent Spirit Awards: Black Swan, Winter’s Bone Take Top Honours

2011 Independent Spirit Awards: Black Swan, Winter’s Bone Take Top Honours

Please Share...Print this pageTweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Reddit0Email this to someone

Oscar Best Actress frontrunner Natalie Portman (Black Swan) and and Best Actor nominee (and host) James Franco (127 Hours) walked away with the top acting honours at Saturday’s staging of the 2011 Film Independent’s Spirit Awards, which took place in Santa Monica, California. Black Swan won all four of its nominations, including Best Feature, beating out Winter’s Bone, The Kids Are All Right, 127 Hours, and Greenberg. Stars of Winter’s Bone (an indie hit and Sundance fave), John Hawkes and Dale Dickey, took home the supporting trophies.

Here is the complete list of winners at this year’s Spirit Awards:

Best Feature: Black Swan

Best Director: Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan

Best Screenplay: Stuart Blumberg, Lisa Cholodenko, The Kids Are All Right

Best Male Lead: James Franco, 127 Hours

Best Supporting Male: John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone

Best Female Lead: Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Best Supporting Female: Dale Dickey, Winter’s Bone

Best Cinematography: Matthew Libatique, Black Swan

Robert Altman Award: Please Give (collected by director Nicole Holofcener, casting director Jeanne McCarthy and the ensemble cast)

Best First Screenplay: Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture

Best First Feature: Get Low

Best Documentary: Exit Through The Gift Shop

Best Foreign Film: The King’s Speech

John Cassavetes Award (best feature made for under $500,000): Daddy Longlegs

Piaget Producers Award: Anish Savjani, Meek’s Cutoff

Someone To Watch Award: Mike Ott, Littlerock

Truer Than Fiction Award: Jeff Maimberg, Marwencol

Powered by

About TYRONE S REID - Tallawah